TRADEMARK BLUE

Theme Thursday’s, http://www.theme-thursday.com/2011/10/theme-thursday-for-november-3-2011.html, image prompt is below.

TRADEMARK BLUE
by Mike Patrick

Theme Thursday visual prompt

I found the paper taped to my door.
The late-night rain had done its job.
The blue ink was faded—
blurred beyond legibility,
but I knew.

Blue ink was her trademark.
Every poem she ever wrote was blue.
She used to share them with me,
telling me what tragedy spawned them,
allowing me to visit her nightmare world.

She had two outlets from her mind:
poetry and me.
The demons hid when I was there,
but she wrote of them, explained them,
let me look through her eyes.

We were friends, never lovers,
although some thought we were.
The darkness held her so tight
she never had room for anyone else.
The darkness never let go.

I hold her wet, blue poem;
just as blurred as her life.
She never left one on my door before,
so I fear this will be her last.
The darkness and the demons won.

This entry was posted in Depression, Fear, Free Verse, Horror, Narrative Poem, Poetry, Theme Thursday, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TRADEMARK BLUE

  1. Randall says:

    Tragic, but an excellent poem.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    A wonderful interpretation of the image – you have evoked the sadness and mental anguish extremely well – real life?

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Not from any specific incident. Maybe a compost of several people. The poem mostly came from a freewrite after staring at that image for ten minutes. The only thing that came to mind was blurred handwriting.

  3. Jill says:

    That is a perfect interpretation of the picture. AND…a bit dark.
    I like it.

  4. Betsy says:

    It’s very blue…pun intended. 🙂

  5. Excellent “reading” of the illustration, and a very touching poem as well.

  6. siggiofmaine says:

    Dark and eery … but well written and kept me present while I read.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  7. Darkness often wins out in the end!

  8. gerimomg says:

    You tell wonderful stories inside your poems…I love the ones like this, that haunt me and leave me wanting more…

  9. Mrsupole says:

    I must say thank you for writing a poem to go with my “artwork”. It is from an “art” app on my iPhone that I use to make these images. There are about 4 or 5 different apps that go together and are made from the same software company. I am not sure how to explain it other than you have to touch your screen and control all the colors, light, contrast and so many other things along with trying to snap a picture of the artwork that you have created. One of the programs is called “Spawn” and so when I read this line you wrote I was amazed in that you seemed to get it without possibly knowing where it came from.

    “She used to share them with me,
    telling me what tragedy spawned them,
    allowing me to visit her nightmare world.”

    I have to admit that sometimes trying to capture a particular picture of the spawn does prove to be a nightmare because there is no rewind on it. But in this particular picture as in a lot of the ones I save, I expand to a certain area of a picture I took, and then snap the picture of that section for another picture. I can expand and then search throughout the snapshot to find just the part that I like and sometimes I will not like anything and then come back and find just the right expansion and section to snap. So it was funny that you write about her nightmare world because when I am searching and searching or just using the program it does seem like a nightmare at times.

    If you have an iPhone you can download a free version of the app but the paid version is fairly cheap and useful. And if you ever try it then you will see what I mean. I have had this app for almost two years and still cannot perfect it. I guess because there are so many variables that there is no way to ever repeat what you make and if you do not take the pic then it is lost forever never to be recovered. It drives one crazy.

    Anyway I have many of the pictures from it posted on my website. And the one in my header is from the Symmetry program.

    Thanks again for the poem and thanks for joining in on this week’s Theme Thursday.

    God bless.

  10. Mike, now I understand the comment you left on my blog. I really love this take, for all its darkness and complex emotions. And the blue ink… evocative. The idea that the poem left on the door might be her last… yeah, I totally get this. Thanks so much for sending me the link; it’s interesting to see how others view this darkness of soul. Bless you! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/taxed-to-the-max-poetic-bloomings/

Leave a Reply

