SHE TASTED OF LIME

Margo is being cantankerous again. For her Tuesday Tryouts, http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/11/01/a-lime-is-a-lime-or-is-it-tuesday-tryouts/, she wants a four-quatrain poem of any type one wants to write, rhyming or un-rhyming, with no adjectives, adverbs or similes, but it has to contain the word “lime” at least once.

Flickr image by libraryman

SHE TASTED OF LIME
by Mike Patrick

Her lips tasted of lime;
lime and salt and tequila,
I remember it
caressing the tongue,

making me want more.
Her neck smelled of gardenias.
They took my breath,
She took my heart.

She was a feast to the senses,
trembling under a touch,
wrapping herself in me,
holding me.

It was in the past
but I will remember.
I cannot forget
her lips, tasting of lime.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Love, Poetry, Tuesday Tryouts, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SHE TASTED OF LIME

  1. vivinfrance says:

    You’ve absolutely cracked the task, Mike. Your writing is vivid and clean, like lime. Oops! one simile, one adjective!

  2. ladynimue says:

    you did well with the prompt ! I have been trying but guess it will take a bit more than lime to provoke my muse !

  3. gerimomg says:

    I always seem to start my comments with “Wow”….So I deleted it this time..
    But this was so vivid that I didn’t notice there were no adjectives until I read your comment and went back up to read your instructions for the poem… A hundred adjectives and similes couldn’t make this poem more descriptive…

  4. earlybird says:

    Brilliant, Mike. I agree with Viv.

    I could taste lime as I read it.

  5. margo roby says:

    Yeees…the tequila period: shudder.

    So, I am curious. Can you see what not using qualifiers does? The effect? That maybe we all need to rely more on nouns and verbs and let them speak. I felt as if you the writer and me the reader went immediately to the poem’s centre without having to brush aside bushes and brambles.
    margo

  6. tmhHoover says:

    How could I have never known the lime could be so sensual!? This was a great exercise -and you did a spectacular job. But I want my adjectives, adverbs and similes back!

  7. Poets Rally says:

    brilliant piece.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

