NIGHT MUSIC

Poetry and music are interchangeable to me. I feel both on an emotional level. Which emotion, and the depth of that emotion, is controlled by the notes/words and their tempo. A short time ago, Margo Roby asked us to write a poem to music. Ever since then, I’ve been doing all my writing with classical music in the background. Recently, a friend wrote an acrostic to the word ‘evening.’ To me, evening music means nocturnes. Nocturnes paint night scenes suggesting a tranquil, dreamy mood. Many classic music pieces other than nocturnes also suggest the night to me: but then, I’m mostly nocturnal. I’ve made up my mind to make series of nocturne poems, inspired by Chopin’s nocturnes and any other appropriate music I find.

Nocturne #1
NIGHT MUSIC
written to: Ravel – Pour Une Infante Defunte
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by boston_camera

The night isn’t silent you know.
The wolf, the owl and the whippoorwill
each add their music to the darkness.
It’s sad music, but not lonely.

It calls to something inside,
something hidden from the light,
but it’s there—in all of us.
The lungs expand,
the eyes dilate,
the heart races.

Facing the breeze,
aromas explode.
The foliage whispers and rustles,
telling stories of strength and failure,
and we live!
We live as never before,
at one with our world
and the night.

The owl’s question is answered
as we join brother wolf
in his hunt—and live
to the music of the night.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Nature, Night, Nocturne, Poetry, Unprompted and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NIGHT MUSIC

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Wonderfully sensory. And I love that word whippoorwill.

  2. Great poem. I love the ‘and we live!’ refrain.

  3. Janet says:

    It’s so good to be reading your poetry again. Now of course you know with my love of night that I would absolutely love this…wow! ‘it’s sad music, but not lonely’ exactly! It’s the kind of music that stirs the poet’s soul. I’m like you…since that prompt I often turn on classical music! It stirs a deeper sense of awareness somehow, don’t you think? I hope you got your novel written?

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thank you, Janet. The novel is not finished. I’m still working on it, jumping back and forth between it and poetry. It has a looooong way to go; I’m thinking in terms of a year. I find I cannot simply quit writing poetry for an extended period.

      You are right about the classical music. It is a constant stirring of feelings and emotions in the background. A thought buys a ticket on the music and goes to unknown destinations. What could be more wonderful than that?

  4. Janet says:

    Amen! And your new poem Evening Silence is proof! I might need to rush through my house-work and try it later. It’s a late night tonight. They’ve spiked hydro-rates during the day, but after 9:00 p.m. they drop so then I dry laundry etc. Actually. I’ll turn on the music while I putter.

  5. margo roby says:

    After reading your conversation, I shall have to go set up the speakers for my ipod!
    And, Mike, I love your idea for a series.

    margo

  6. Mike, this is INCREDIBLY beautiful, and calls to my wild wilderness heart. It is just so lovely and takes me right there, to the owl and the wolf and the music of the night. Absolutely beautiful writing. Sigh. Thank you. You have made my day.

Leave a Reply

