IMMATERIAL SOULS?

Kenia, in her Wednesday Challenge for Imaginary Garden with Real Toads, http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2011/11/kenias-wednesday-challenge_30.html, challenges us to write a metaphysical poem from one of the metaphysical questions linked in her posting. I chose question #48: Do humans involve immaterial souls?

IMMATERIAL SOULS?
by Mike Patrick

Do humans involve immaterial souls?
You do. You still speak to me.
You still touch my cheek after I shave.
I hear you inhale,
smelling my aftershave.
Some things haven’t changed.

I almost see you in the mirror
or picking up the mail.
You are almost here
all the time.

Sometimes I feel your kiss.
It still surprises me while I’m reading.
It’s lighter than it used to be,
but it is.

You still sing along with the radio
when I go to talk to you.
There is laughter in your voice.
I know you’re happy
where we’ll be happy—in time.

This entry was posted in Death, Free Verse, Love, Poetry, Real Toads, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to IMMATERIAL SOULS?

  1. vivinfrance says:

    You’ve let me down, Mike – you chose a REAL metaphysical question, and answered it beautifully. Am I alone in my incapacity for understanding the metaphysical?

    • Mike Patrick says:

      That was the only question I could hope to make an argument for. Even then, I had to move the debate to the personal and emotional rather than the rational. Metaphysical is way over my head. As I read the other responses I was amazed. There are some bright people out there.

      • pmwanken says:

        I don’t know about the “bright people” out there and what they’ve written, but I’m convinced that this one outshines them all. I have been envious of your mastery of meter and rhyme…and now I am coveting your mastery of free verse. Regardless of the style you choose, your words always engage…evoke…entertain…and elate. Well done, Bro!

  2. Kenia Cris says:

    Thanks for writing this amazing poem which proves philosophy can speak through poetry. This is really beautiful. ❤

  3. Ella says:

    Amazing, sincere and so touching! Beautiful response to this post~

  4. This is my favorite response to the prompt, Mike. SO touching! I wish I could feel my wolf dog’s presence the way you feel your wife’s. So nice to know she is happy, and still near.

  5. Marian says:

    aw, it’s real and wondrous and many can relate. i love this poem!

  6. Victoria says:

    I am new to your work Mike, and WOW. This poem is so beautiful, tender, solidly crafted, and true to my own experience of having loved and lost. This is a real favorite I will read again and again. Thank you.

  7. earlybird says:

    A lightness of touch entirely appropriate to the subject – lovely haunting poem, Mike.

  8. jinksy says:

    I think personal and emotional worked very well for metaphysical matters! 🙂

  9. geri=MomIt says:

    What a beautiful and tender poem.

  10. Such words to touch the heart. We are not supposed to do this alone – our immaterial souls cry out to the souls of others, be they lovers, children, friends or animals.. and we touch and feel our way along through life with these other souls beside us as guides, mentors or helpers. Your poem really brought that home to me.

  11. There’s a sweetness here that can be hard to capture in words, but you surely have done just that. The prompt could have given you something dark; instead you shed some light.

Leave a Reply

