THIS OLD HOUSE

Viv in France wrote a poem yesterday, http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/changes-for-dverse-poets/, that haunted me from the moment I read it. I tried to ignore it. I tried to work on my novel, but it refused to go away. To truly understand the poem, it is necessary to understand the additional background found in this posting: http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/the-house-that-jock-built/. Viv, this one is for you.

THIS OLD HOUSE
by Mike Patrick

The House that Jock Built, image by Viv Blake

My new house has . . . atmosphere:
warm and comfortable, the early light
brings cheer to a kitchen steeped in
the smell of fresh-baked bread.

The church bells sound, calling me,
reminding me of the passing time.
I find myself counting a blessing for each tone,
and I wonder if this is holy ground.

Outside the open kitchen window,
a lovely garden grows.
The scent of roses stirs memories
belonging to someone else.

I find nothing sinister.
The memories are of the joy
of nurturing that rose in its first year;
children laugh in the background.

The previous owner must have outgrown
this place. How else could they leave?
I won’t. This old house once held everything I need,
and I shall fill it again;
let it be the home it’s always been.

This entry was posted in Family, Free Verse, Life, Love, Narrative Poem, Poetry, Un-rhyming, Unprompted. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to THIS OLD HOUSE

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Your poem is a magical evocation of ‘home’. The difficulty for me is that the new house was brand spanking new – we had it built to our design, so no-one had lived in it before. and we made the gardens in the old and new houses.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Your questions of whether the new owners would love it like you did, and would they dig up the roses demanded to be answered. They simply would not leave me alone.

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    Mike, that’s lovely. Isn’t it great when a poem demands to be written? And I like that my own dear Viv inspired you.

  3. geri=MomIt says:

    I love this! and vivinfrance’s two poems, too! I love that the story is told from three points of view now… I know that two are real and from the heart…and one is imagined, but still, somehow from the heart…drawn from another real experience, maybe?….And I agree with Tilly, too! It’s wonderful when something demands to be written…it’s not poetry for me, but i understand the feeling…I do love reading your poetry, though.. I would have “liked” all three poems, but I can’t seem to log in. so…like, like, and like!!

  4. Janet says:

    Is this Viv’s house? The poem and the house are so beautiful.

    Mike, Happy thanksgiving!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Happy Thanksgiving to you too, Janet. This was Viv’s house previous house. Her husband built it from an old barn.

  5. honeyhaiku says:

    The is quite lovely. Love your work.

  6. zumpoems says:

    Love the poem. Thanks for the links to vivinfrance’s blog — I need to remember to visit there more often — this is a great reminder to do so.

    Love that you tackled a house that you just moved in to. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

