THE DRAWER

Imaginary Garden with Real Toads, http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2011/11/memory-bowl.html, challenges us to place a few items in a memory bowl, make a poem out of it and perhaps include a photograph of the bowl. I don’t have much of an artist’s eye for composition, and I’m positive the camera’s batteries are dead; however, ‘memory bowl’ reminds me of an old poem—the first list poem I ever wrote. I looked it up and did a major rewrite; the original was in rhyming verse. I hope this version will fulfill the spirit of the Real Toads challenge.

THE DRAWER
By Mike Patrick

Your business card, a locket,
half a broken heart,
a note, all your letters
and your secret diary’s key:
add them all together,
they’re a fraction of the things
one can find within my drawer of memories.

The Deadwood wanted poster
showing you with that enormous gun.
And here’s that tangled ball of beads
from Mardi Gras,
your gift from laughing kids.

The handkerchief
you cried in on the day we wed.
Your Bible, still pressing blossoms
you picked from dogwood trees.
They are all here together
in my drawer of memories.

I only kept the good things
‘cause now you’re not with me.
They’ll always be safe—with you,
in the drawer of my mind’s memory.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Love, Poetry, Real Toads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to THE DRAWER

  1. Ella says:

    I love that you only kept the good things, so beautiful! I love all the tucked items of sentiment~
    I’m glad you gave it a try!

  2. This is written with such sensitivity – the first stanza is magnificent in setting the tone of the entire piece. What love and loss you have captured here.

  3. pmwanken says:

    Free verse. NICE! 😉

    The tightness I feel in my chest when I read this should tell you how much emotion your words have evoked. Truly a lovely revision, though I’m sure the original was as equally evocative.

  4. Renee Espriu says:

    I love that we have memories and that such beautiful words, such as these, can come about from them.

  5. geri=Mom says:

    This was wrtitten with so much emotion. It feels real. I guess that makes it masterful!

  6. vivinfrance says:

    Tears in my eyes as I read this, Mike. You did a wonderful job.

  7. This is truly beautiful and so moving. Wonderful, Mike.

Leave a Reply

