I PLAY NO MORE

I’ve been so busy trying to write an impossible novel, I almost missed one of the Welsh poetry forms from Imaginary Garden with real Toads, http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2011/11/i-gymryd-anadl.html.

This week they want a toddaid. A toddaid is a stanza comprising a ten-syllable line alternating with a nine-syllable line. A syllable towards the end of the first line rhymes with one in the middle of the second line. Similarly lines three and four. Lines two and four rhyme with each other. Here’s what the rhyme scheme looks like. The rhyme can fall in any of the underlined syllables:

x x x x x x x A x x
x x x x A x x x B
x x x x x x x C x x
x x x x C x x x B

It looks pretty easy, and I need a break from the novel, so I can’t pass it up. Do to time constraints, I did keep it to one stanza.

I PLAY NO MORE
by Mike Patrick

We played at love in days of youth now gone;
ignored the truth in the rush to score.
But now I find that love is not a game.
Life gives one shot; I play no more.

This entry was posted in Aging, Love, Poetry, Real Toads, Rhyming, Toddaid and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I PLAY NO MORE

  1. thebabelblog says:

    Haven’t heard of this one before. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Doctor FTSE says:

    Probably wise! But a well constructed poem, anyway.

  3. Bravo! Thanks for participating in this challenge.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    These forms are fascinating – and yours has a rhythm and a lilt.

  5. Love this one! Must try it 🙂

  6. pmwanken says:

    As always, Mike, I’m awed at your ability to rhyme…maintain a form…AND express something so deep. Goodness…no wonder I like free verse so much. 😉

  7. Pete says:

    Superbly crafted Mike. The content flows logically, the formality is observed and there’s a mesage too.

  8. Marian says:

    ah, very nice one. i think these are getting harder, not easier. ack!
    and i too am having my ass handed to me by my “novel.” oh, well, this too shall pass.
    until we play no more. 🙂

  9. Renee Espriu says:

    You have written this as though you do them all the time, Mike. I commend you for taking on the challenge of it for I could not. Good luck with your novel. I have one I have begun research for but haven’t got back to it. I wish you all the best. Hang in There!

  10. geri=Mom says:

    what a wonderful poem…I don’t really think easy is how i would describe a toddaid, but you did make it seem easy!

Leave a Reply

