SITTING ALONE

Carry on Tuesday, http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/2011/10/carry-on-tuesday-128.html, prompt 128 is: sitting alone listening to the silence. Again, I let a freewrite lead the way—this time to doggerel.

SITTING ALONE
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by jairid1791

Sitting alone in nature’s house
listening to the silence of beauty;
so gently am I stirred.

Softly, softly,
I hear the clamor
of fish, spawning
in the pool.

Softly, softly,
I hear the rattle
of the sun,
reflecting off the clouds.

Softly, softly,
I hear the roar
of leaves, changing
green to gold.

Softly, softly,
I hear the shriek
of falling snow
between the peaks.

Nature’s silence,
experienced deeply
through the eyes.

This entry was posted in Carry On Tuesday, Doggerel, Lyric, Mixed Meter, Nature, Poetry, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to SITTING ALONE

  1. Janet says:

    This form and these words. Perfect! Now I wish I was here.

  2. Randall says:

    A wonderfully done job.

  3. Laura Maria says:

    Beautiful especially the last verse! The repetition worked really well in enhancing your descriptions.

  4. planaquarium says:

    Wonderful – what miraculous events to be discovered in silence…

  5. siggiofmaine says:

    Snow is a FLW (four letter word.) But I still enjoyed the poem ☺.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  6. pmwanken says:

    Mike! Doggerel!? Nuh uh.

  7. gerimomg says:

    wonderful poem..what a wonderful way to hear the world…

  8. vivinfrance says:

    If that’s doggerel, then I’m a goldfish! Lovely poem of appreciation, and great use of the senses.

  9. Pingback: Silence | mangetout and other stories

  10. Plenty to think about here! Thanks so much for joining in Carry On Tuesday. I really appreciate it.

  11. Nanka says:

    I can hear the gentle softness of the poem sitting here on the other side of the world!! The imagery is fantastic and you made me experience it, by reading!!

  12. Renee Espriu says:

    Beautifully written piece, Mike. Your words take me there to experience all of nature’s beauty in each stanza you write.

Leave a Reply

