FIELDS OF TIME

Another off-prompt day. So much in this fevered mind demands attention.

FIELDS OF TIME
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Fetish

In vain, through bordered fields of time,
I search for youth that once was mine,
but time is but a looking-glass,
with nothing solid one can grasp.

Those youthful years have slipped away
with childhood’s games and rowdy play.
Inclement days, which now remain,
are gray and sad and all the same.

If only I had spent each day
with knowledge that they’d fade away,
more life from each I could have wrung
before in time they each were flung.

The looking-glass and photographs,
reminders of life’s overdrafts,
are all that time has left behind:
refreshments for this failing mind.

This entry was posted in Aging, Iambic, Lyric, Old Times, Poetry, Rhyming, Tetrameter, Unprompted and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FIELDS OF TIME

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Back to form, and very good form! There is a lot of wisdom in this poem.

  2. geri-Mom says:

    poignant and close to my heart…I was thinking along these lines today…and gave my 28 year old student a lecture about wasting youth worrying about aging…I’ll be writing a post on that…you can write a poem!!

  3. earlybird says:

    If only… yes. ‘If only I had spent each day
    with knowledge that they’d fade away,’

  4. Janet says:

    This poem reminds me of one of my favorite authors of all time, Edgar A. Guest. Already I am feeling the ‘twinge’…that bittersweet ache.

Leave a Reply

