BEFORE THE PROM

Shortly after writing my first rondeau from a prompt in Imaginary Garden with Real Toads, http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2011/09/x-marks-spot.html, I see this wonderful photo prompt (see below) at Poetic Bloomings http://poeticbloomings2.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/wishful-young-dreamers/. Now I have to use a new form about a thousand times before I master it—that’s why I haven’t mastered any yet—so I ask myself, dast I try another rondeau? I dast.

BEFORE THE PROM
By Mike Patrick

Image from Poetic Bloomings

Before the prom, we had some time
to kill. Twas happenstance Spring’s clime
was ripe for love to finally bloom.
And we, beneath the lake’s full moon,
embraced within the scent of pine.

Your beauty, in your gown sublime,
was all I saw as lips met mine.
The minutes ran away so soon
before the prom

We trifled then with love’s lifeline,
not knowing how it would define
our happiness, with children, strewn
with laughter we could not presume
before our lives did full entwine . . .
before the prom.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Love, Old Times, Poetic Bloomings, Poetry, Rhyming, Rondeau, Tetrameter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to BEFORE THE PROM

  1. You need no further pratice Mike. You did this form well!
    Tthe rondeau is a fun form!

    I might be able to get one more poem out before the 27….why don’t you give me an idea?

  2. I found it to be wonderfully insightful into the lives of those before the ritual of, “the prom.” Awesome as always!

  3. siggiofmaine says:

    I have only heard of this form recently…have not tried it yet…admire your adventurous spirit.
    Well, done, I say, well done.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  4. Pete says:

    Oh, you old romantic, you! The archaic language lends to the content very well. I can see picture and poem hanging together on a wall somewhere.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      You got me. When I went to the prom, people still held each other when they danced and there were no drive-by shootings. I guess it was rather boring, but I don’t remember being bored.

  5. Laurie Kolp says:

    Aww… so sweet and endearing… the rondeau goes perfectly with the picture/theme.

  6. Jinksy says:

    I think all forms are fun, and quickly become addictive – I’ve been hooked for years! LOL

  7. earlybird says:

    Well chosen subject for the form. Or was it the other way round? 🙂

  8. This is an absolutely beautiful read….sigh.

  9. Such a nostalgic, dreamy mood has been created with this form. The wistful repetition of the key line makes it for me.

Leave a Reply

