THE CALL

Carry on Tuesday’s http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/, prompt #121: Home is where the heart is. A comment on another posting gave me a direction for this one.

THE CALL
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by beccaofportland

I’ve heard the wilderness’ loud cry.
it keeps asking me to stay
and run beneath the moon
among the hunting wolves.
No greater freedom can be known.
Oh, the power of that call.

The ocean wants me to spend
my days with trade winds
blowing across my face
while laughing at the storms.
The pop of sails,
roll of deck and lift of tide
offer adventure’s strength and lure.
Oh, the power of that call.

The silence of the desert
whispers my name. Its sand
and rocks twist into shapes
of beauty which calm the soul.
They wait, timeless in their patience,
for me to recognize their pull.
Oh, the power of that call.

The clouds that split
round mountain peaks,
call me to their heights.
Only gods have braved their view,
but they would share it, with me,
for all eternity.
Oh, the power of that call.

So many have heard those calls.
So many have lost their way;
but the adventure, beauty and view
of home, hearth and fair wife,
have the strength, forever to hold me.
Oh, the power of that call.

This entry was posted in Carry On Tuesday, Family, Free Verse, Love, Nature, Organic, Poetry, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to THE CALL

  1. viv blake says:

    As a wilderness lover myself, your poem is right up my street. I like the form, too.

    They wait, timeless in their patients, – I think you might mean patience?

  2. I love the repetition of the line, “Oh the power of that call.” Great response to the prompt.

  3. This is a really nice piece. Liked you repeated the line. Very nice! 😉

  4. Rinkly Rimes says:

    You don’t need to envy anyone else’s ability! My poetry is often doggerel; your sings.

  5. siggiofmaine says:

    I love the trail of a wandering soul,
    and the strength of the base called home.
    Thank you.
    Enjoyed this very much.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  6. Wyoming Diva says:

    The call is strong indeed – few have the courage or resources to truly follow it. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Leonargo says:

    Really powerful call here, I love your imagery in the various realms of nature.
    “Oh, the power of that call.” makes me think of a chorus in a sea shanty 🙂

  8. Raine says:

    “Oh, the power of that call.” It sounded like a heart’s yearning and it will not stop until the person has found that place one could call home. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. anl4 says:

    Very nice indeed!

  10. Janet says:

    You keep posting new ‘favorites’. I kept reading, feeling a sort of thrill of adventure with each stanza, the end being above anything I was anticipating! Perfect.

  11. swapna says:

    This one is a real beauty to read. And the feel and power of words in the below stanza was my fav…fav.
    “The clouds that split
    round mountain peaks,
    call me to their heights.
    Only gods have braved their view,
    but they would share it, with me,
    for all eternity.
    Oh, the power of that call.”

  12. earlybird says:

    I really like this, Mike, its circular nature. And this line: ‘run beneath the moon
    among the hunting wolves’

    May I just politely point out what I think is a typo? (two in fact) line 2: it’s ? and v3 l5 still something wrong with ‘patiencs’, I think!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I need all the help I can get. Thank you. Corrections made. You caught the typo I managed to put in the correction Viv pointed out. Thank goodness, I have more than one friend looking out for me.

  13. shanyns says:

    Mike – this one just sings to me. It calls and while I feel the small desire to answer I look around and see my own hearth and home, the laughter and love and my roots sink deeper and I stay. Love your poetry!

Leave a Reply

