FROM THE MOMENT

Margo Roby, in her Tuesday Tryouts, http://margoroby.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/tuesday-tryouts-poem-on-things-meaningful-to-you/, asked for a list if items we considered meaningful to us: things we would take with us if we were moving a long distance, or we would try to save if the house was on fire. I realize Margo left it so broad that we would have to really think about what is important to us, but my list would be radically different for the situation or destination.

I tend to be pragmatic. If the house was on fire, living creatures, human and canine, would be my first consideration. Almost anything else can be replaced except for photographs and the books on our families’ genealogy Sandy has spent thousands of hours collecting, researching and creating. Many of our photographic treasures are hanging on the walls (and are meaningful only to us). It would take too long to remove them, and it would take time and a wheelbarrow to remove the genealogy research. I know too much about fires to risk a life attempting to save either.

As for moving, it would depend on where and the circumstances. There is a big difference on what I would take when moving to New York City, as apposed to a cabin in the north woods or a hut on a Caribbean island. For the purpose of the exercise, I restricted my list to inanimate personal objects and made my destination to a place where no supplies were readily available (normal food, shelter and clothing are a given). The list is alphabetical, so no special emphasis can be read into any item.

art supplies
camera
coffee
computer
firearm
fishing pole
knife
music
photos
reading material
single malt scotch
toolbox with tools
writing pads

Now, for me to boil this list down to one item, and write a poem, becomes very difficult. What is the one thing from the list that defines my life?

FROM THE MOMENT
by Mike Patrick

From the moment of creation,
rhythm came to be;
alternating dark and light
became the metronome.

The moon’s slow change
injects the bass-line beat.
Improvisation by the clouds,
through rain and thunder’s roll,
add multi-notes to catch the ear.

The sighing of the wind through trees
adds a plaintive song,
enhanced by the baritone
of the ocean’s waves to shore.

No matter where one listens,
the music’s always there:
from classic majesty to blues,
from jazz to new age soul;
music was His gift to all.

I fought the urge to rhyme this. If it keeps eating at me, I might still do it.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Iambic, Music, Nature, Poetry, Tuesday Tryouts, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FROM THE MOMENT

  1. Your poem about music in nature is absolutely beautiful. Had me thinking about the music of wolves, owls, and even crows. You are right, He gave us ears to hear the beauty that surrounds us. Gave us touch to feel the vibrations of that music and the soul to love the music. Really quite a beautiful poem Mile.

  2. Janet says:

    LOVE! although I do understand the ‘urge to rhyme’:) It was like listening to an orchestra as I read this. Stunning!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      An orchestra was what I had in mind. I was trying to come up with nature’s equivalents to woodwinds, strings, percussion, etc. It would have take twenty stanzas to do a proper job.

  3. connetta says:

    It’s a good poem either way…If i rhymed it, i’d also use this version too because it flows. I find with my poetry, if it wants changed it won’t stop bugging me untill i do it and get it over with. if you keep feeling it should rhyme, i think you need to listen to the place that gave you the poem. and do it.
    I too love the sounds of nature and the wind..all of it..

  4. Teri says:

    Mike – Music is indeed a blessing- and this is such a good thing for me to read. Unlike you sound/music has played what (until recently) imagined to be peripheral place in my life. I defined myself as visual – a love of images and color and layers of stuff. But lately sound has been bubbling around my subconscious getting louder and more wonderful. In July it started with a little piece I wrote about music being a blessing ( http://smallstonegatherer.blogspot.com/2011/07/music.html ) and the next day was the sound the first summer cicadas-and I became a woman on a mission- where I would have normally been focused on the visual I have been deep into listening to sound, writing about sound, recording it on my phone (technology is amazing!) In August alone I think I have at least 6 posts that are about what I am hearing. Now Margo asks what would I take with me… Like you I have pondered- and I will ponder some more.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I don’s suppose I’ve ever been without music, Teri. One tune or another is always running through my head. When I close my eyes, I see the notes as bright colored images. Not sure if that is a gift or a sign of psychosis, but it’s always been with me.

  5. viv blake says:

    A wonderful response to the prompt. I honestly feel that it’s better unrhymed – it seems the more true, more sincere for not following a specific form. Music is one of the most important parts of my life, but yes, we can make our own music: everyoine has a voice and the means of percussion in our hands. We don’t need stacks of CDs and electricity to power a player.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thank you, Viv. I’m starting to think more about publication, so I’m probably going to have to bend to the market’s desire. It is difficult for me to say, but you are almost always right.

  6. adeeyoyo says:

    I love this Mike. It is the musical beat of life’s/nature’s heart! I feel it so well…

Leave a Reply

