THE WAY IT IS

I apologize to both my faithful readers. Wordle 20 from The Sunday Whirl, http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/, took off in a strange direction, over which, I had no control. The words were: rack, quivering, birdlike, studded, pallid, women, hordes, blooms, crawl, bar, hitch, goof.

THE WAY IT IS
by Mike Patrick

Women,
in their pallid, quivering, starving hordes,
mere racks of bones, crawl from bar to bar,
following some birdlike migratory instinct.
They preen and display their tattoos,
studded ears, pierced lips and nose;
all in hope that love will bloom
from some casual hookup.
Maybe some goof will want
a permanent hitch.

Men,
with all their foibles,
preen and strut
in hope of  one-night-stands
of uncomplicated sex.
No long-range goal enters their heads.
Why?
Women, in their pallid, quivering, starving hordes,
mere racks of bones, crawl from bar to bar.

This entry was posted in A Wording Whirl of Sundays, Doggerel, Free Verse, Poetry, Un-rhyming, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to THE WAY IT IS

  1. Rinkly Rimes says:

    How did you guess exactly what I looked like! You missed out a few studs though.

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Lovely sense of humour, Mike, and SO well done!

  3. viv blake says:

    A damning indictment on (?) all (?) man and womankind, but a jolly good wordle!

  4. Susannah says:

    Oh Mike I really liked what you did with this and loved the repetion of…
    “Women, in their pallid, quivering, starving hordes,
    mere racks of bones, crawl from bar to bar.”
    You painted a vivid scene and did it oh so well! Nice writing!

  5. The way it has become- a vivid picture of one angle of womenhood in this world

  6. Nanka says:

    A harsh teenage culture do I see here?? Sad for respectable society to endure….and getting so commonplace around the globe!!
    You have brought to light some harsh realities of life Mike!!

  7. This is a strong one, Mike; the observations you set down bring to mind vivid images as well as a sense of sadness and, in the background perhaps, compassion.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Sadness, compassion, disappointment, fear: Some of my grandchildren are nearing this age.

      I was thinking about you yesterday, Harry, while writing another poem; wishing I had your seafaring knowledge to draw upon. I’m sure you could have given me a proper location for a mermaid’s demise. I had to make something up.

  8. Mike says:

    A great read Mike.
    I have just posted my poem for this wordle and almost put an apology to go with it. Like you I took off in a strange direction over which I felt I had little control. We both seem to have gone off down a more seedy route. Amazing when you think I hadn’t looked at any of the entries before I added mine. Maybe it’s just a case of great minds thinking alike!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I’ll be over to read yours in a moment. I never read any of the other poems from a prompt until I finish mine. Usually a theme presents itself immediately, and I’m afraid reading other themes would scramble mine. Well, that and the fear some of them would be so great I would get discouraged and give up.

  9. brenda w says:

    I think this is fabulous, Mike. The last two lines were a bit of a surprise, and had me laughing. Clever write. My guess is that there’s some truth in that there poem. 🙂

  10. Shen Hart says:

    This was a great, blunt view on the night-life. Nicely done.

  11. Marianne says:

    And so it goes, Mars and Venus. But it’s what makes the world go round! Well done, Mike!

  12. Mary says:

    No apology necessary. The words took me in a strange direction too. Neither the men or women in this poem are very likeable, heh? But there are people like this out there indeed! You have described them well.

  13. Janet says:

    Mike…
    This is unbelievably poignant, the imagery stark and sadly accurate, in too many cases!

  14. zouxzoux says:

    My first thought after reading this was “what a cynical point of view”. But, of course, the scene described can be found in bars all over the world and bar life is only a tiny bit of humanity’s playground. You made me react and you made me think. Good job!

  15. Traci B says:

    Another searing portrait of bar life, Mike. How many does that make now? I think yours is the eighth (or maybe ninth?) I’ve read. I guess that one word took most of us the same general direction.

  16. And so it goes… in perpetuity. Excellent piece.

  17. earlybird says:

    Excellent!
    Interesting that Viv had hordes of women too.

  18. I recently read another blogger who said that women now expect their men to cheat and therefore they no longer look for love. They date a man and dump him before he either dumps them or, he cheats. I asked her if this is what it’s all about now then the women will never find a man who will treat her right and together, they fall in love. It seems that love and romance along with many other morals are falling by the wayside nowadays. Such a shame.
    Great wordle though Mike!

  19. Mike, I did get a chuckle out of this. Though I am not sure it is all that funny 😦 Well wordled.

    Pamela

  20. Jo Bryant says:

    Well I am new to your site ans I loved it – will be back for more. 🙂

  21. Cathy says:

    Good ending. How can you love a skeleton ?

  22. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    You come full circle in this poem!

    Whirl 20: Kyrie Eleison

Leave a Reply

