OLD INK

While stopping by Norma Martiri’s blog, http://normamartiri.wordpress.com/, I noticed in her home section a short poem called The Write Time. It triggered a free write, which turned into a free verse poem. Because of the subject matter, it fits into the Sunday Scribblings, http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/, prompt of, “Muse.”

OLD INK
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by elston

The night is special poets-time.
Tis then the ghosts of poets past
peer o’er our heads and weep
into the liquid ink.
Their inspiration, darkly stained,
doth dance across the page.

With every midnight line
deep scratched on parchment’s face,
new generations find archaic words
best read by candlelight.

I hold no fear for my demise.
When brother Reaper calls my name
my ever-work will then begin.
I’ll find my nights filled as your muse,
a distant whisper in your ear,
and weep a river for your pen.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Iambic, Love, Mixed Meter, Muse, Poetry, Poets United, Sunday Scribblings, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to OLD INK

  1. Janet says:

    This indeed is one of those moments…a perfect thrill! Oh my gosh, this is good on so many levels…in my humble, uneducated opinion:)

  2. Janet says:

    …goosebumps from head to toe.

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh, Mike, this is such a wonderful piece! Full of frustrated feelings, particularly the first and last stanzas.

  4. “…new generations find archaic words/best read by candlelight.” What an inspired line, Mike. Your tone throughout is aged and ageless. And you’re spot on about the night, for here I sit at 1 am, the house all to myself, blogging away and sketching out bits of poetry that will eventually coalesce into a full verse. Thank you for this, Mike, really. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/i-met-my-muse-when-i-was-two/

  5. This is a masterpiece Mike. Well written and timeless. I love the last stanza…something to look forward to 🙂
    Thanks for the mention and again I’m honoured.
    Cheers,
    Norma

  6. Mike says:

    A tremendous piece of writing Mike.
    I love the idea of being someones muse in the next life – ‘a distant whisper in your ear’
    Thanks for a great read.

  7. Wonderful poem! I could really relate to it.

  8. This is excellent! Feel free to drop some ideas in my brain, muse!

  9. Loved it, you did it again. Your muse sure worked her magic on you for this one.

  10. Kim Nelson says:

    This one oozes wisdom and sagacity. Love it.

  11. viv blake says:

    I don’t know how I missed this one, but I’m oh so glad I found it. Mike this is truly inspired, a credo for any poet to keep and savour. May I, please?

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Viv, you have never seen the day you needed permission to copy one of my poems. You can thank yourself that it’s in free verse. I fought the urge on every line to add rhyme and meter.

  12. Jinksy says:

    new generations find archaic words

    Lets hope they do! Personally, I love archaic words…

  13. Oh this was beautifully done. I loved the opening stanza, and the whole has just the right classical touch to suit the theme.

Leave a Reply

