HEAVEN’S LOSS

After a comment from a new Aussie friend, Norma Martiri, I paid a visit to her blog, http://normamartiri.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/1580/. Her latest poetry post was a delightfully dark rispetto.

I wasn’t familiar with the form, but the description in her notes helped. A rispetto is a two stanza Italian poem, originally used to show respect (rispetto) to one’s love. It is usually written in iambic tetrameter and has a A-B-A-B, C-C-D-D rhyming scheme. With my love of rhyme and meter, it looks to be short, sweet and lots of fun.

HEAVEN’S LOSS
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by SkohorBondi

With training wings, you fell into
my waiting arms. An angel born
to fill my heart, and love subdue–
such beauty to my life adorn.

May heaven never realize
their missing star now fills my eyes
and lights the start of my new day
with kisses from so far away.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Love, Poetry, Rispetto, Tetrameter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to HEAVEN’S LOSS

  1. This is beautiful… and the picture is perfect to go with … 🙂

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Your poem is passionate, an enticing form – I’m glad you shared it with us. Not so sure about the punctuation of the last two lines in stanza 1 – could you explain?

  3. Beautiful, just… simply beautiful.

  4. Perfect Mike, you nailed it and so beautifully. The last stanza is superb. Thanks so much for the mention and I’m glad you had fun with it 🙂

  5. Mike Patrick says:

    Thank you. This is a form I will use again and again.

  6. adeeyoyo says:

    Lovely Mike, especially the ‘… training wings…’.

  7. SG says:

    My first thoughts on reading this were of the day when my lovely little niece was born. Children are such great joys in our lives.

  8. TheMsLvh says:

    This must have been written by a man that truly knows love. Just stunning!

  9. Mike,

    I love the rhythm of this lovely poem. It flows smoothly down the page!

    Namaste……….cj

Leave a Reply

