SOMEWHERE BETWEEN

Jinksy in her In Tandem blog, http://jinksy-intandem.blogspot.com/, gives a couple of her paintings as prompts. Simply looking at the one below, paired with the her blog name, stirred something up.

Image by Penny Smith

SOMEWHERE BETWEEN
by Mike Patrick

Somewhere between the sea and sky
exists a place where man can’t go.
A place where all the monsters live,
a place where nightmares grow.

No one can ever find the door,
it’s hidden deep within the mind,
but things crawl out  night
through spectral holes in time.

Strange noises, screams and awful yells
reverberate until the sun
dissolves them like the morning mist,
too late for rest, the damage done.

This entry was posted in Fear, Iambic, In Tandem, Poetry, Rhyming, Tetrameter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to SOMEWHERE BETWEEN

  1. jinksy says:

    “spectral holes in time”
    I can certainly see one of those in this painting, but I’d hope it wasn’t only nightmares that came through them! You certainly put a new slant on things. 🙂 Thank you so much for playing with the Tandem this week!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      The painting was beautiful, but while trying to form a poem, my eyes kept falling back to those dark area. Finally, they took on a life of their own, peering out through holes. I’ll bet a psychiatrist could have fun with that; bound to have something to do with my mother.

  2. Ann Grenier says:

    Yes, exactly what I thought of when I looked at Pen’s drawing – those invisible monsters! I like what you did with the idea.

    Thanks for visiting my place.

  3. TheMsLvh says:

    Really enjoyed the darkness in this poem. It shows a different side of you which I find intriguing.

  4. I enjoyed reading this Mike. I just wrote a similar poem called The Witching Hour http://normamartiri.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/1580/

  5. Spooky! Not to be read to small chldren at bedtime. Seriously, Mike, your mastery of form grows daily.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I’m a long way from mastery of any form.

      But . . . I’ve decided to embrace poetry’s various forms. There are so many, I’m having to look them up unless I use them repeatedly. I’ve seen several blogs and educational sites with lists of poetry forms and terms, but none are comprehensive. The only way I’m finding some of them is to Google them individually. I’ve started a list of the forms I’ve tried, and I hope to be more descriptive in my categories and tags.

  6. adeeyoyo says:

    I love this, Mike. Halfway between dreams and nightmares lives our imagination…

  7. Doctor FTSE says:

    Eerie. Very good read. Thank you.

  8. Rekha says:

    A perfect description of one of those nightmares that continue to haunt even as the brilliance of the sun explodes.

  9. Margaret says:

    Such a soft blue and bubbly image is obviously deceiving… I like that you focused on the darkness peeking through… very creative.

Leave a Reply

