Child’s Laugh, Waka/Tanka #1

This month’s poetry form from The Purple Treehouse http://purpletreehouse.blogspot.com/, is the Japanese Waka (or Tanka). In it’s English form, it is written in five lines with syllable counts of 5-7-5-7-7. It is the perfect follow-up for last month’s Haiku. As I gain knowledge on these Japanese forms, I can allow my western background to revel in their eastern history and beauty. With that background, I hope my first Waka approaches the form’s flavor.

Child’s Laugh, Waka/Tanka #1
by Mike Patrick

Max, bringing joy

The laugh of a child
Soon lighten the heart’s burden
With joyous giggles.
Life, surrounded by children
Maintains youth within the soul.

This entry was posted in Children, Family, Grandchildren, Love, Poetry, The Purple Treehouse, Waka and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Child’s Laugh, Waka/Tanka #1

  1. Awww yes indeed it does. Hearing children giggle with sheer delight is such a joyous sound it can’t fail to melt the heart that hears it.
    Wonderful read Mike.

  2. Yes, it does, which is why I love having little ones around me. Great Waka. I so admire people who can convey much in few syllabes, and you have done it well.

  3. Heaven says:

    What a beautiful tanka form… and if I cut it into two, it passes the test of the tanka.
    Great to see you writing in these beautiful Japanese forms… hopefully I can come up with one soon.

    This one hit me hard… I do miss my 12 yr daughter as she is in Vancouver until end of month for a vacation. I miss her smiles and laughter….

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Used to feeling American superiority, I have not-so-reluctantly concluded the Japanese are onto something in their poetry. Maybe in another few hundred years we will evolve to where we can write it.

      If your daughter will be home in another couple of weeks, that’s not so bad. Once they grow up and move away, there is an awful dry spell until grandchildren arrive. They get here just in time to add years to our lives. Tiny blessings.

  4. lolamouse says:

    I totally agree! I love working with young children for this reason, especially having a sometimes moody teen at home! I also agree that the Japanese poetry forms do have a special “something.” I’m finding them increasingly pleasing to write and read.

  5. Kay Salady says:

    The laugh of a child certainly does lighten the heart’s burdens. What beautiful subject matter! I enjoyed your photograph as well. Thank you!

  6. You remind me of one of life’s greatest joys. A baby’s giggle is infectious, and demands that we adore the giggler. Good Tanka, though the missing apostrophe in line 2 made me wince!

  7. pure2core says:

    superb write…thank you for share…

  8. adeeyoyo says:

    Being surrounded by little children does keep you young and some of their fresh innocence and naevity can rub off on you if you’re lucky!

  9. This is great for a first attempt and I love the subject matter 🙂

  10. booguloo says:

    The world loves a giggling child! Nice write.

  11. becca givens says:

    Maintains youth within the soul

    Lovely job, Mike!! 🙂

  12. Abby Kelly says:

    You made me smile – and that’s the cutest kid EVER. Thanks for the light-hearted verse. http://www.benjity.wordpress.com

  13. West Lake says:

    cute and innocent smiles.
    well written entry.

  14. I like where you went with the WAKA …. the word
    giggles had me gigling … hahaha … I suppose I would called this
    a happy WAKA. I love saying the word WAKA … it makes me laugh.
    Toodles, Isadora

  15. dsnake1 says:

    you are right about the laugh of a child. especially your child. hearing it makes all your toil in the day worthwhile. 🙂

  16. this is brilliant, humor is one big relief to life.

    you rock.

    hope to see you join poetry picnic week 2 tonight, week 2 theme: the kiss.

    bless your Sunday.

  17. Poets Rally says:

    how funny,

    keep it up.

Leave a Reply

