NEW BEGINNINGS 2

I waited too long to post for Poetic Bloomings http://poeticbloomings.blogspot.com/  prompt #15, “New Beginnings.” Somehow, I missed it, but events made it a prompt I had to explore. I had to write this.

July 16th, my latest grandson, Jamieson (Jamie), was born. Beautiful beyond belief, he was the answer to many prayers. This one is for you: Michelle, Dave and Jamie; long life and happiness.

NEW BEGINNINGS
by Mike Patrick

First pulled, then dried and suctioned,
attachments to the past removed,
a plaintive cry to test the lungs:
now, ready to be viewed.

He lay there, soft and pink
with that surprising shock of hair,
Peering out from squinted eyes,
but mostly unaware.

He had to feel the changes,
from the only world he’d known,
into this strange new place
from the flesh that had been home.

Although this different day began
with glaring sights and sounds,
it’s ending wrapped in swaddling cloth,
with senses all toned down.

The new beginning’s pain is gone,
the outrage loud expressed,
until is found, home again,
the love from mother’s breast.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to NEW BEGINNINGS 2

  1. TheMsLvh says:

    Congratulations Mile. New beginning as you described can be scary, but love will sooth the way. Newborns are really quite a miracle and if not for the love of a heart, even from the beginning, this wonderous event could not happen with such joy. Great poem, made me remember that special day I had years ago. Thank you.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Oddly enough, I was never in the room when any of my children were born. Back then, participation by the father not routine. My closest involvement came in the back seat of a police car, but we made it to the hospital with about three minutes to spare.

  2. A tender, loving Grandfather’s expression of joy – I hope Jamie will keep this poem for ever.

    ‘from the only world he known,’ = he’d known?

  3. siggiofmaine says:

    Congratulations on the new arrival !

    You perfectly put into words what I’ve thought about…a babies mental adjustment to the new world
    from his secure world before his birth. How rude an awakening it must be !
    Thanks for your post, enjoyed it immensely. I was in the operating room when my first granddaughter was delivered…what a wonderful sight to see … the next generation.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I envy you your seat at the table–so to speak. It is probably something every father should experience. I know the little rascals are awfully easy to bond with. It’s only when they get older that they break your heart.

  4. adeeyoyo says:

    Beautiful, Mike… Congratulations!

  5. earlybird says:

    Having recently been round a new baby (when I was in NZ last month) I can totally identify with this – even though I was just The Great Aunt!

  6. Mike says:

    A great poem Mike and congratulations.
    I was lucky enough to be at the birth of both my boys and wouldn’t have missed it for anything. Now waiting for them to make me a Grandad – but they seem to be too busy doing whatever it is 30+ year olds do!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      The wait is worth it. You will find you have a lot more patients now, either that or the little darlings are much better behaved than they were back in the good-old-days. You will worry about their safety more too.

  7. Marian says:

    oh i love this! brings back a moment for me, too.
    congratulations on your new grandson!

Leave a Reply

