EPIPHANY

Margo Roby, http://margoroby.wordpress.com/, asked that we write a list of epiphanies from our life and then write an epiphany poem from them. While I’m pretty sure my life has consisted of a chain of epiphanies, I drew a complete blank.

In desperation, I started a mind map. I only had three entries on my map: Lightening, dawning, and a light coming on, when the first line of my poem appeared. I immediately switched to free writing. It took about five minutes. This is the exact result of my freewrite without editing except for spelling.

EPIPHANY
by Mike Patrick

Where was I when the light came on?
That’s kind of hard to say.
I was walking down a path
when a thought began to play.

Like a movie, I saw these scenes
dance before my eyes.
I was walking down a path
with someone by my side.

So very long, I’d walked alone
upon a solitary trail,
with not a thought of someone else;
I feared my search for love would fail.

How much time does one life hold?
How many of those days alone?
How long should satisfaction wait
before one’s chance is blown?

I took a few more lonely steps,
With thoughts of what to do,
then I turned back upon my path
And came face to face with you.

The meter is far from perfect, and several areas could use some tweaking, but I liked the overall output. I think I’ll let it rest a few days before deciding on which changes to make.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Love, Mixed Meter, Organic, Poetry, Rhyming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to EPIPHANY

  1. If that’s a freewrite, I must do more of it! Yes, the odd tiny rhythm tweak, but don’t change the joyful essence of the poem. The picture fits well with young love.

  2. The whole poem is a true picture of how one feels and what happens, it is like a movie before the eyes .I liked the lines
    How much time does one life hold?
    How many of those days alone?
    How long should satisfaction wait
    before one’s chance is blown?
    One needs a truthful response only then one’s epiphany has meaning.I think\not all people have this unique moments of ‘spiritual discovery’.A good , true poem

  3. I agree. This reads just perfect. And it’s so sweet!

  4. margo roby says:

    Odd the way the brain plays with us, isn’t it? And, as writers, it has extra room to play. But when the poem comes, what exhilaration.
    I read through without much halting of any kind, so it really will be tweaking. And the content…how lovely.
    margo

Leave a Reply

