PAINTING WHISPERS

Poetry Potluck, http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2011/07/poetry-potluck-week-44-painting.html, prompt for week 44 was “Painting Whispers,” and a Gustav Klimt painting of Death and Life. Usually, I enjoy using visual prompts, but Klimt isn’t one of my favorite artists, and the painting left me dry; however, “Painting Whispers,” was interesting.

Well, after I finished my poem, I found out Potluck Monday had already shut down submissions. It was an interesting exercise.

PAINTING WHISPERS
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by The Lawleys

Right next to you he sits,
his lips against your ear.
I know the things he’s saying
are things you want to hear.

How many of the words
he paints into his lies
will drip into your heart
and lead to your demise.

Some painted whispers cry,
some softly sob their plea.
All are meant to confuse
and keep your love from me.

Don’t offer him your ear
to hear his sad untruth.
His only goal tonight:
a pathway to seduce.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Jingle Poetry’s Potluck Monday, Lost Love, Poetry, Rhyming, Trimeter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to PAINTING WHISPERS

  1. TheMsLvh says:

    Wonderful!! Mike you nailed it! So true a lot of the times.

  2. swapna says:

    Certainly it echoes a grain of truth, written beautifully.

  3. There’s me, thinking you were an old romantic, and you’re really a cynic after all! Clever poem – and don’t think I didn’t notice the half rhyme at the end! untruth/seduce.

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Angst, love, jealousy…all in a neat package. Nicely done, Mike 🙂

  5. earlybird says:

    I like this very much, Mike.

Leave a Reply

