I PAINT A PICTURE IN MY HEAD

Carry On Tuesday, http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/, prompt #115 was “In my head I paint a picture.” Not very iambic, but definitely something fun to work with.

I want to take a second to give everyone a warning. I have often praised VersePerfect, the program I use for most of my poetry writing, but today I found a flaw with it. I had just completed the most wonderful poem of my life—okay, maybe it was just a rough draft of a so so poem—when we lost electrical power here at my home. It only lasted a couple of seconds, and no, I don’t have a backup power supply. It was enough to shut down my computer. Guess what? VersePerfect does not have an automatic save feature.

I lost everything and had to start over. Because my poem was one of those free-writes, which apparently doesn’t pass through any mental retention circuit, I couldn’t remember more than a few words of it. What you see below is poem number two.

I PAINT A PICTURE IN MY HEAD
by Mike Patrick

Mona Lisa

Flickr image by Shemp65

No artist I, with pallet bright;
a brush held in my hand feels wrong,
but when it comes to you, my love,
the beauty in my eyes is strong.

I paint a picture in my head
of every graceful move you make.
Each breath becomes a different pose,
each step or stir, an artist’s take.

In Leonardo’s greatest dream
could live such beauty with your style.
His art would strive to finally rise
to you, with Mona Lisa’s smile.

This entry was posted in Carry On Tuesday, Iambic, Love, Poetry, Rhyming, Tetrameter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I PAINT A PICTURE IN MY HEAD

  1. naramalone says:

    Poem number two is beautiful. And a lovely tribute to a perfect painting.

    A battery backup has saved me a lot of grief over lost words, especially when deadlines are looming.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      It’s not as if I don’t know better. Word, with it’s automatic save (mine is set for every five minutes) has spoiled me. I suppose I should get a battery backup. With the push to move away from fossil fuel and nuclear power plants, it’s bound to happen more often. I fear we are going to clean up our planet to where we have no power at all.

  2. Laurie Kolp says:

    Mike- If this is #2, then #1 must have been what caused the electricity to spark… wow!

  3. Susan says:

    This is very romantic. You don’t have to be an artist but I’m sure words like this will make any lady fall on your feet.

  4. Jess P says:

    Poetry can paint just as lovely a picture as an artist’s brush. Nicely done.

  5. Whitesnake says:

    Very well woven …………….

  6. TheMsLvh says:

    Beautiful Mike. I love this line:
    “I paint a picture in my head
    of every graceful move you make.”
    Words any person would love to hear.

  7. Jingle says:

    positive and cool.

    well done.

  8. This is one to leave on Sandy’s pillow. Sorry for your lost poem, but maybe you could find it in WP drafts – click on ‘all posts ‘ in your dashboard. I recovered a lost poem that way

Leave a Reply

