NOT SO DISTANT

Prompt #277 for Sunday Scribbling, http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/, was “Distant.” I had to write on it, it felt as natural as a conversation with my wife. The challenge was to find a photo to match my vision of distant as used in the poem.

NOT SO DISTANT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Ellenvd

You’re distant lately;
mind a million miles away.
Is it an echo of me?
I know I’ve been distant too.

Things prey on me.
Times are so hard.
Working was always such a burden,
but not working is so much worse.

Worry is the curse of the caring.
You needn’t worry about me.
My distance isn’t physical.
It never will be.

Come, take my hand.
We are too close to be so distant.
Let’s talk.
I have so much to say.

This entry was posted in Aging, Fear, Free Verse, Love, Poetry, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to NOT SO DISTANT

  1. Susan says:

    Simple and clear- that’s how I felt after reading this poem of yours. It’s so true that when we’re not working we feel worse than being busy. ‘Worry is the curse of the caring’ It’s very very true.

  2. An interesting interpretation of distant, and rather sad. Mine would be interstellar-type distance, but I think your idea makes a very good poem. Mine would be a cliché!

  3. Jenna says:

    “Is it an echo of me?”, “We’re too close to be distant” I liked those parts, they resonated with me. Funny, we kind of had the same spin on ‘distant’. Thanks for commenting on my blog, I’m glad I came to read yours and will continue to visit!

  4. aww so sweet at the end. wonderful.

  5. Andy says:

    This really does feel like you’re having a conversation with someone.
    “worry is the curse of the caring”…nice 🙂

    Loved the ending.

    Very nicely done!

    My entry is here:
    http://mypoetcharm.blogspot.com/2011/07/within-depths-of-my-soul.html

  6. I really like this one. We can tend to be so near and yet so far away! This is wonderful and not too fussy!

  7. PhotoDiction says:

    Very sweet and sentimental – as an expression of love should be 🙂

  8. Baishali says:

    oh I loved reading your poem … it’s dramatic, with a hauntingly beautiful effect. … and i simply love the name of your blog … all the best 🙂

  9. Archna says:

    It’s funny how easily we find a way to carve out a hollow space between ourselves and the ones we love. Sometimes it’s refreshing to have this type of moment with my husband, when we find it necessary to have to say something along the lines of, “We’re too close to be distant”.

    So true.

    Many blessings,
    Archna

  10. LIving life day to day, sometimes there is a gulf which separates even the closest people. Your poem illustrates this beautifully. Love the ending as well, the plea to get back to what matters. Lovely, Mike. Amy
    Here’s a kind of offbeat one for you!
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/rat-stabbin-heels/

  11. Classic NYer says:

    It does feel as natural as a conversation with your wife… not that I know your wife, of course… but I love how… easy this poem is.

  12. sometimes we forget to just keep… talking. It’s so vital to keeping feelings alive.
    Lovely Mike.

  13. Kim Nelson says:

    Mike~
    This is a brilliant explanation of a stage anyone in a long-term relationship passes through. So well done.

  14. scape says:

    ohhhh!

  15. Yes, I agree this was sweet and the ending was even sweeter!

  16. TheMsLvh says:

    Felt like I was right there listening to your conversation. Nicely done Mike

  17. Nanka says:

    So much of truth and wonderfully expressed……loved the concluding lines which are so sincere and heartfelt!!

Leave a Reply

