ODE/SONNET TO HORRIFIC

Poetry Tow Truck http://djvorreyer.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/poetry-tow-truck-29-ugly-ducklings-and-transformations/, asks us to take an ugly word and beatify it in a poem. When it comes to words, I’m kind of like a dog with an odor: there are no bad odors, only interesting and uninteresting ones. I had to look for something else.

Most of us have verbal hiccups or tics: words we use constantly but don’t notice (unless one has a wife to point them out); luckily, as writers, we have the opportunity to edit the damn things out before they’re seen. The ones that grate on me the most are, “like, you know; whatever, actually” and “dude.” I dug through the words I find myself overusing and misusing (Sandy helped), and the winner was “horrific.” (Note to Viv: I threw in a couple of archaic usages just to irritate you).

ODE/SONNET TO HORRIFIC
by Mike Patrick

O horrific, your meanings grow.
You once were simply frightening
before your use did overflow.
There’s now no end to what you mean.

A tiny pimple, described as you?
That’s not your use, not as designed;
Or how about horrific shoes?
O woe is he, so oft maligned.

With overuse, you’ve lost your face.
So often do you now occur,
most everyone forgets your base,
no one remembers who you were.

I fear it’s gone beyond control.
Somewhere, long past, you lost your soul.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Ode, Poetry, Sonnet, Trimeter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ODE/SONNET TO HORRIFIC

  1. Gee thanks. Why would you want to irritate me? I thought you were my friend! How about a frightening stanza to show the real meaning?

  2. Mary says:

    Very clever, Mike. I myself am trying to think of an ‘ugly’ word. You did well with the prompt.

  3. siggiofmaine says:

    I love the ODE/SONNETT but more I love your remark
    “When it comes to words, I’m kind of like a dog with an odor:
    there are no bad odors, only interesting and uninteresting ones.”
    What a wonderful and descriptive sentence.
    My mother had words that would upset her appetite like “garbage”.
    I made the mistake of using that word once at the table as a teenager
    and she truly found it repulsive and when I asked her twenty or more
    years later, it still was a “nasty” word to her ears and stomach !

    Thanks for your delightful post.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  4. TheMsLvh says:

    Again, I am just amazed at your talents!

  5. Steven Satak says:

    That word seems to pop up everywhere nowadays. It’s the new ‘at the end of the day’.

Leave a Reply

