LOANER

The prompt for Carry On Tuesday, http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/, was to use as much or as little of Shakespeare’s line from Hamlet: Neither a borrower nor a lender be.

My muse woke up for this one. It ended up being written in alternating lines of iambic tetrameter and iambic trimeter, something I’ve never done before. I’m not sure it’s a legitimate form.

LOANER
by Mike Patrick

Empty used car lot

Flickr image by -WHITEFIELD-

My heart I loaned, for just a while,
to you when I was low,
but that was back when we would smile,
and you were quick to show

your playful, laughing, funny side.
Then he came back. Things changed;
and though my heart with you abides,
my life is rearranged.

A lender I will no more be.
My heart is yours to store.
Although it’s mine in word and deed,
I’ll need it nevermore.

This entry was posted in Carry On Tuesday, Iambic, Lost Love, Organic, Poetry, Rhyming, Tetrameter, Trimeter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LOANER

  1. The poor narrator! I do hope that his days of falling in love are not over. I like what you have done with the quote, and how you have taken it in a different direction than most of the rest of us.

  2. Back in superb metric form, Mike. I love it!

  3. earlybird says:

    Love this, Mike. Even if it is rather sad…

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    Beautifully sad… (if that makes sense). I especially like the last stanza, Mike.

Leave a Reply

