IT’S EASY

The prompt for Theme Thursday is, “Easy.” It took longer than usual for my muse to speak. Perhaps it wasn’t her. It doesn’t feel like her, lately she’s wanted rhyme and meter, but not tonight.

Theme Thursday prompt

IT’S EASY
by Mike Patrick

No need searching for hidden meaning:
things are, or they are not.
To seek love, absolute love
must be presented. One must sacrifice self.
All must be surrendered
to find another.
No half measures.
No holding back.
Anything less is desire,
is lust, is desperation,
or even loneliness;
but it’s not love.
A door is opened and retreat blocked.
Such is the nature of love’s sacrifice:
all safety abandoned,
no contingency plan,
the heart is bared to receive
love or pain.
No need to search for hidden meaning.
It’s easy.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Love, Organic, Poetry, Theme Thursday, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to IT’S EASY

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    Easy for you to say !
    Thank you…enjoy your posts.
    ☮. Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Becca Givens says:

    Mike – I like your version. When we approach love and relationships from the frame of mind of permanence … it is easy … give of self with love and respect and move forward without considering any other possible outcome other than success …
    “All must be surrendered to find another.”

    I admire the progress you have made with various styles, tempos, prompts and subjects … many styles I simply do not understand the official terminology … “emjambment”, “meters”, “stressed or unstressed”, “Iambic pentameter” etc … but it is fun to read your explanations and comments. I depart with a great respect for you, your muse and your contributions. I appreciate your visits; you give me feedback to ponder!! Thank you!

  3. While I love your metrical poetry – you are so good at it – this freeverse outpouring seems natural, unforced, EASY! Full of love. When you start to write a poem, do you freewrite? I do and sometimes it’s just a kickstart process and at others the freewrite needs no fixing to make a poem.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I always freewrite to a prompt if I’m at the keyboard. Many time I have no idea or direction when I start. Like yours, some are born complete, some require a little editing, and some require hours to smooth enough to display. Those are the ones which you and my other friends help me with, because I never uncover all the sour notes.

  4. S Basu says:

    this is beautiful mike, it will so wonderful if life could fit into this poem.

  5. pmwanken says:

    …another good one, my friend…
    I would pull out the line(s) that say the most (to me), but I would simply be reposting the poem in its entirety within this comment.

  6. TheMsLvh says:

    Truly a definition of love. Absolute wonderful Mike!

  7. Cassiopeia Rises says:

    Lovely one. It has great imagery and depth….

    Melanie
    My main blog:
    http://cassiopeiarises.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

