TOO HOT

I’ve lurked and watched Mad Kane’s Humor Blog http://www.madkane.com/humor_blog/ for months, laughing at and enjoying the limericks. I’ve held out as long as I can. It’s time to join the fun. This is my first real attempt at a limerick. Be gentle with me.

TOO HOT
by Mike Patrick

A woman was playing with fire.
She kept her man hot with desire,
until he went wild,
and now she’s with child.
She’s facing an outlook so dire.

OOPS
by Mike Patrick

A fellow was playing with fire
while camping out deep in the brier.
The wind started to blow
and what do you know?
His tent has turned into a pyre.

This entry was posted in Humor, Limerick, Mad Kane’s Humor Blog, Mixed Meter, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TOO HOT

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Hooray, Mike. Now we’ll see some fun, now you’ve joined in.

  2. Kim Nelson says:

    Pretty darn good for a novice. That first one is ready for prime time!

  3. beespoetry says:

    Both are great! The second one made me giggle a bit, though I shouldn’t laugh at the probable forest fire that’d happen from that.

  4. I’m so glad you joined in with these and am looking forward to more from you. 🙂 Hard to believe you’ve never written limericks before.

    I hope you’ll become one of my Limerick-Off regulars!

  5. I hope you don’t mind my suggesting a rhyme tweak on the first one: replacing “by the hour” with “with desire.”

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Oh yeah. Much better. Please feel free to make suggestions. This one doesn’t change the meter, but the meaning fits much better. Looks like it will take me some time to develop a limerick ear. I knew it wouldn’t be as easy as it looked.

  6. earlybird says:

    FAB! Well done, Mike!

  7. naramalone says:

    Laughing. I think they’re perfect.

  8. pmwanken says:

    Mike…jolly good!! And you inspired me to give it a go, too. Tried my hand at a limerick for today’s Carry On Tuesday prompt! Yikes! 🙂 ~Paula

  9. Susan says:

    I’ve smiled only at the beauty of poetical lines. But I loved and laughed so much after reading these two poems esp, the first one. I can’t believe this is your first attempt. Thank you. I enjoyed reading them so much.

Leave a Reply

