WALK WITH ME

The prompt for this week from Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/, is to write a “welcome poem.” My first thought was, you are welcome by my side, but before I could type it, it had evolved into another organic poem; growing places I hadn’t expected. The title presented itself only when the last stanza appeared.

WALK WITH ME
by Mike Patrick

By my side, you are welcome.
I can comfort you,
catch you when you stumble
and hold your hand.

Before me, you are welcome.
I will follow your lead,
protect your back
and push you up the hills.

Behind me, you are welcome.
I will face your enemies,
break the strength of the wind
and turn harm aside.

Walk with me.
My love surrounds you,
my strength protects you,
my soul cherishes you.

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Love, Organic, Poetic Asides, Poetry, Religion, Un-rhyming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WALK WITH ME

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    A very unusual take on welcome…and a welcome change in your perspective of the word.
    I enjoyed reading it very much…refreshing. Thank you for sharing it.
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. vivinfrance says:

    A heartfelt declaration of love. The fact that it is written in free verse heightens the sincerity of it. Any woman would be thrilled at your promises. Jock always puts a hand in the middle of my back when we walk uphill.

  3. Becca Givens says:

    What a touching and loving piece, Mike!! Well done!!

  4. earlybird says:

    A lovely warm poem Mike.

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    Nice!! I love it when a poem goes off in an unexpected direction.

  6. TheMsLvh says:

    I will walk with you anytime!

Leave a Reply

