NIGERIA COMES THROUGH

Only by reading the poems of friends did I find Carry On Tuesday http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/. They had a fun prompt for this week, the title of an Abba song: Slipping Through My Fingers. To supplement this fabulous prompt, when I opened my email this morning, I discovered this wonderful opportunity from the daughter of the Nigerian Oil Minister. She needs help in smuggling her deceased father’s $10,000,000 into the States. I believe I’ve written about the Nigerian scams before, but it doesn’t hurt to remind people. Here we go.

Oh, and I think this will be the last poem in iambic pentameter for a while. I’m finally burning out.

NIGERIA COMES THROUGH
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by coooperateboulder

I heard the knock of opportunity.
At last, uncalled, it came direct to me.
No slipping through my fingers any more,
my dream, at last, was knocking at my door.

It came to me–this short and sweet email;
a road to riches, in sublime detail,
from powers higher than I’ve ever known.
I did not even have to use the phone.

Ten million dollars–minus some percent;
already mine and waiting to be spent.
From me, the only item they would need
was bribery cash, in order to proceed.

With trembling hands I sent the needed draft
along to pay the oil commission graft.
Included was my bank’s new routing code.
For added speed, my password I bestowed.

So now, anticipation makes time drag.
How long before I get my moneybag?
I know I’m rich, this feeling is so great.
My friendly banker’s calling now. What? Wait!

This entry was posted in Carry On Tuesday, Fraud, Iambic, Pentameter, Poetry, Rhyming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NIGERIA COMES THROUGH

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    I found this to be delightful !
    And it is true, inspiration comes from who knows where…
    You made fine use of a scam to write this poem…
    Serindipity and scam…a beautiful combination
    in you skilled hands.
    Thank you.
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Groan. Good fun though!

  3. pmwanken says:

    Such a fun poem…well written. But…burning out on iambic pentameter? Does that mean you’re coming to the free verse side of life?? 😉 Or will you perhaps just choose a different meter? (I’ll tell you a secret…whether it’s pentameter or not…I love all your work!) ~Paula

  4. Oh, I’ve had several of ‘those’ emails. It makes you wonder exactly who it is that thinks them up!
    Thank you for the visit and the lovely comments too
    However you write in whatever style, just let the ink flow as it wished too.

  5. LMAO… I love it!!! Great take on the prompt!

  6. Susan says:

    I enjoyed reading this.
    Thank you for your comment on my poem. I’ve tried writing poetry only in free verse. I liked your take on rhyme and meter. It’s indeed challenging.

  7. Mr. Walker says:

    Mike, this is fun. I like the narrator’s voice, really wanting to not let an opportunity go by.

    Richard

Leave a Reply

