SO SWEET

Finding my last–free verse–poem unsatisfying, I Googled around looking for a prompt simple enough for me to handle. Although late in the week, Sunday Scribblings http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/had a prompt of SWEET. A Google search for poetry prompts also located several old prompts for poems. Anaphora poems have recurring words or lines in each stanza. I thought it would be fun to combine the two and make it a sonnet ( love English sonnets) to add to the degree of difficulty.

SO SWEET
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Hussain Shah

So sweet, the thoughts of you, which rule my mind.
They languish, ready for my time of need.
All thoughts of loves long past have since resigned
to corners; dreary, dark and gone to seed.

So sweet, the thoughts of your beguiling smile,
which drives your tiny flaws so far away.
Perfection was my view from down the aisle,
and so it’s been, unto this very day.

So sweet, the thoughts of love that holds me near;
that rocks me gently through the joyful night.
While still entwined, we greet the morning dear.
The dark did not conceal your passion’s light.

So sweet, the thoughts of what is yet to come,
as in your arms, my memories succumb.

This entry was posted in Anaphora, Iambic, Love, Pentameter, Poetry, Rhyming, Sonnet, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SO SWEET

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    Mike, this is lovely. You have a real knack for sonnets. I don’t know if it’s the iambic pentameter or that as a cop you’re happier following rules, but they do seem to bring out the poetic best in you.

  2. This is so gloriously romantic, I want to be transported to Wessex and wear a bodice and drink a pint of warm ale!! Lovely writing – I’ve never mastered the sonnet, and yours fit the prompt so beautifully. Thanks, Mike!

    Amy http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/sorry-plus-two-new-ones/

  3. Ena says:

    Beautiful poem. It seems redundant to say it was sweet, but it was 😉 Thanks for putting a smile on my face this morning!

  4. sweet one and too romantic Mike.. Wanna know what happened the other day?

    Someone is Special

  5. Elizabeth J says:

    Beautiful sonnet! Love the anaphora, and you do so amazingly with rhyme! Definitely a memorable one.

  6. marsha says:

    I like it, for me is mindful of past loves, I haven’t found ‘the one’ for another trip down the aisle. Your poetry is ‘easy’ to read, nice rhythm, and just the right bit of sweetness and charm.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Well done, Mike. Very romantic. I particularly like first two lines of the second stanza.

Leave a Reply

