EDEN’S DOOR

Three Word Wednesday offered up the prompt: alter, fond, and tranquil. Great words for an English sonnet.

EDEN’S DOOR
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Riccardo Aliffi

Fond memories of youth, as I recall,
were filled with awkwardness and growing pains.
While we were unencumbered, we forestalled
the pull of age; still damp from summer rains.

The time of innocence would soon dispel,
as we discovered Eden’s hidden door.
Although we feared of going straight to Hell,
our secret only made me love you more.

In tranquil hours, aside from prying eyes,
our love explored new ways to find delight.
As summer’s days grew short, our love devised
fresh ways to spend our time beneath the night.

With time and age, we alter what youth meant,
but it will never equal love misspent.

This entry was posted in Iambic, Love, Pentameter, Poetry, Rhyming, Sonnet, Three Word Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to EDEN’S DOOR

  1. J.A. O'Sullivan says:

    There aren’t enough sonnets these days. My admiration to you for taking that on, and doing it so nicely.

  2. I love the image and this depiction of young love =)

  3. ladynimue says:

    Another wise tale !
    Loved this one 🙂

  4. Beautifully written, Mike.

    Pamela

  5. Ah for love misspent. Such poignant recollections, beautifully expressed in impeccable iambics. There’s no holding you now, Mike.

  6. Sheilagh Lee says:

    that was truly beautiful that” it will never equal love misspent.” you are a romantic at heart.

  7. Mary says:

    This is beautiful, Mike. I especially adore the ending couplet. You are a great sonnet writer.

  8. pmwanken says:

    Beautiful. From start to finish, simply beautiful.

    In awe,
    Paula

  9. earlybird says:

    Very impressive, Mike. Well done. I too liked the last line very much.

  10. Kwee Lewis says:

    Lovely and quite beguiling. Love misspent? Maybe love well spent 🙂

  11. Altonian says:

    Shakespearean! Need I say more?

  12. Jae Rose says:

    There are so many wonderful words and images..’the pull of age’..’love misspent’..but does it grow wiser with age..love? Each word draws us closer towards that magical door..Jae

  13. ThomG says:

    Sonnets are such difficult to write, and write well, but you’ve shown real talent in this. Great job.

  14. beespoetry says:

    Wow Mike, this was… don’t have the words, but wow. I can’t even believe you wrote this the very same day you got the prompt. Holy moly. I love the way it feels so natural (I read it out loud, and now my cat is giving me an odd look). I was trying to think of which phrase I liked best but it’s the whole third stanza- it fits very well together. From beginning to end, this is a great poem.

    I don’t think I have quite managed to get iambic pentameter down yet, but I gave it a shot this week. http://beespoetry.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/three-word-wednesday-two-fer/

  15. Jess says:

    I am always impressed by well done sonnets. There’s lovely imagery and a beautiful flow.

  16. Rebecca says:

    Ahh, now I feel I must go pick up my Shakespeare and give a read on this cool, wet, lazy afternoon. So well done.

  17. Dee says:

    wonderful job on the sonnet and there is such a sweetness to this – your heart truly shows on the page 🙂

  18. Altonian says:

    Hello again, please check out my blog where something has been left for you.

Leave a Reply

