THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BED

Idol musing today . . . that would be American Idol musings. The mind has been jumping from subject to subject for the last few days, but one of the songs from American Idol triggered a thought that stayed with me. Not sure exactly what the trigger was, but the line, ‘The other side of the bed,’ jumped into the brain and stuck. I sat down to write another romantic poem, but as I’ve said previously, I don’t control my writing. It goes where it will. Sometimes it just zings off into another orbit.

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BED
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by MNicoleM

When you slip between the covers
in the silence of the night,
I eagerly sneak in to see
if the ‘happy’ mood is right.

I reach across the blanket
for a sensual caress,
but what’s this thing I’m touching?
My life’s become a mess.

There’s not supposed to be feathers;
really! A parakeet.
And what the heck is this?
Something has webbed feet.

Back when we first met, you loved your pets,
you always had a few,
but this has gotten out of hand,
our house is now a zoo.

Trembling, I close my eyes
but I know I’ll stay awake.
The thing that’s nestled next to me
just might be a snake.

That lowing can’t be snoring,
please say it’s not a cow.
And something’s eyes are glowing,
I’m afraid to leave bed now.

If you wonder about the strength
of our bygone wedding vow?
I draw the line at carnivores.
Some things one can’t allow.

This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Mixed Meter, Organic, Poetry, Rhyming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BED

  1. This poem certainly is not romantic (lol) – but it IS hilarious and had me laughing all the way through. 😀 xx

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    lol 😀

    It’s always good to obey the muse.

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Would make a good film!

  4. earlybird says:

    Great stuff Mike! The imagination runs wild… certainly seems as if things have got out of hand! 🙂

  5. Renee says:

    Thank you, Mike! A good chuckle for this morning and yes, one should draw the line at anything that might eat you in the middle of the night.

  6. honeyhaiku says:

    This was a laugh out loud delight!

Leave a Reply

