THE COMPANY I KEEP

I received a request from Eclipse of the Moon http://eclipseofthemoon.wordpress.com/, to place one of my poems in a new ‘selected poetry’ section of her blog. I was honored by the request so I checked out her new blog section. Although she only has a few poems posted so far, I was really honored when I saw the company with which she placed me. I found myself with some of the poets I consider the very best, and while I’m sure many more will be added to the roll in the future, it pleases me to be there among them.

Some of my regular readers have noticed that I have been coming up dry in my writing lately. While appreciating Eclipse of the Moon’s placing me in such esteemed company, this came to mind.

THE COMPANY I KEEP
by Mike Patrick

Rosa Parks, Flicker image by okreitz

Would you judge me by the company I keep?
Judge me by the first-responders.
They are my brothers.
Judge me by Jesus.
Walking with Him, I found redemption.
Judge me by Rosa.
She showed me the strength of calm courage.
Judge me by Homer.
He gave me the culture of heroes.
Judge me by Leonardo.
Through him, I learned of beauty.
Judge me by William.
He taught me the power of words.
With these, and a thousand more, I associate.
Judge me by them if you will.
I enjoy the company of giants.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE COMPANY I KEEP

  1. pmwanken says:

    Love this piece, Mike…

    And your inclusion on Eclipse’s site…well deserved, my friend!

    ~ Paula

  2. vivinfrance says:

    What a lovely poem. I judge you as friend.

    PS Congratulations on the poetic laurels.

  3. Such a wonderful piece of poetry Mike!
    I just came to check if there’s any new poem for my collection…And there it is!
    I also have to say that I’m honored by your blog, and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    I’m especially glad you liked the company over there 🙂

  4. beespoetry says:

    Congrats! It’s good to see you back, after the saga of the shed.

    Those giants are great- and who knows who the next giant will be? (When you reach such status, I’ll probably go around bragging that you commented on my blog a couple times.)

Leave a Reply

