Dear Diary

I’ve been pretty much absent from the blogosphere for a while as I worked to prepare the back yard for a large new storage shed/workshop. Although not everything is done, I now have a little time to rest up.

This was the first time I’ve done hard physical labor since I began my poetry blog, and I’m learning things I didn’t know. I’ve learned that I’m much older than I thought I was, and I discovered that when I’m physically exhausted, the right side of my brain shuts down, making poetry impossible.

I’ve kept in contact with my friends during this ordeal through email, and it’s interesting, that in one of yesterday’s emails, I told a friend that I’m not crazy about the short poetry forms like haiku and senryu. Now, I find I’m still so tired that anything approaching complex poetry eludes me; therefore, I humbly offer this series of mixed haiku and senryu as a diary of the last couple of weeks. I had to write something to get the juices flowing again.

Dear Diary

Spring rains keep falling,
turning backyard into mud.
Will this never end?

Digging in the soil,
leveling out the hard ground.
Mother Earth resists.

My youth ran away
leaving only this old man.
No end is in sight.

Delays, more delays.
Rain or tornadoes daily.
Work between the storms.

They erect the shed
on week’s only sunny day.
It’s floating on mud.

Sixty feet of trench
dug through the slop in three days.
Continuous rain.

Electric cable:
finally in and all hooked up.
Outside work is done.

Run the wiring to
the lights and receptacles.
Connect: power on.

Backyard, a quagmire
to slog materials through
for shelves and workbench.

Nice working inside.
Eastern Missouri flooding,
but the shed is dry.

Insides have shaped up
through a couple of days work.
Time to fill it up.

Three days without rain!
The ground is becoming firm.
God smiles upon me.

The rarely used things:
carried out, placed in storage.
My work here is done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dear Diary

  1. vivinfrance says:

    What an adventure. Thank you for the blow-by-blow account I asked you for. You’ve done what I do when suffering from poetryfatigue: haiku and senryu are becoming my refuge in adversity. Enjoy your shed.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I’m down to tweaking the permanent locations for my tools and attaching my vise. It’s still a pretty small operation; no large power-tools, but hand-tools are fun.

  2. pmwanken says:

    One way to avoid “short poetry forms” is to do a whole series of connected short poems! So…you still managed to do something more complex than a “simple haiku”!! 😉

    Thanks for sharing your water – shed experience!

    ~Paula

  3. earlybird says:

    You certainly embraced the form, Mike! Most impressive. When do we get to see a picture? 🙂

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Not so terrible, is it?

    You have linked senryu – that is, one long poem. Great storytelling.

Leave a Reply

