AGING SHAKESPEARE AT HOME

Another day of sticking my tongue out at the prompts. I feel so free. I write whatever grabs my interest, and have experienced the joy of interaction with my poet friends (much of it in email). It was nice to have something to talk about other than difficult prompts.

The last few days, between thunderstorms, I’ve dug a 60’ trench and buried the electric cable going to my shed. The interaction with my friends made it all bearable. Without them, I might not have posted anything, but now, my workload is down to hooking up a few receptacles and a switch. With those discussions of rhyme and meter floating around in my head, as I was feeling the aches and pains of age and unaccustomed labor, I began wondering what it was like for Shakespeare when he was older.

AGING SHAKESPEARE AT HOME
by Mike Patrick

Shakespeare's home(?) Flickr image by donaldc104

Oh, fie! Why must Thy fiery globe arrive
Upon an hour before my rest is done?
Yet rise I must, into the bath to dive,
And war against my enemy, the sun.

Last night’s sweet wine is banging in my head.
My sleeping wife’s light snore becomes a roar
With strength enough to wake the very dead.
Have I become so old I now deplore

A simple night of drinking with my friends?
Why must I now condemn my father-time
For racing off with that, which now transcends
The joys of life, which once were freely mine?

To work I go, and if I live this day,
Tonight, I write, and once again, I’ll play.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to AGING SHAKESPEARE AT HOME

  1. pmwanken says:

    …sigh… 😉
    You (and Shakespeare) make iambic pentameter seem so easy.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      No one was more afraid of sonnets, and iambic pentameter, than I was when I started this blog. The first sonnet I ever wrote is in here somewhere. Now I kind of like them, but I WORKED on iambic pentameter. I’m still working on a long iambic pentameter poem I started a couple of months ago. The practice on it has really helped me.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Your poem is brilliant – well constructed and VERY funny! Yes the picture was of Shakespeare’s birthplace: I lived near there in the 70’s. Please could we have a blow-by-blow story poem about the shed when it is finished?

  3. beespoetry says:

    Oh jeez, this is great! I’m still working on meter. I find it difficult to know where the emphasis actually lies, or how to get it in the right spot when I muck it up.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      You spend more time tinkering with your poems than anyone I know. Once you get the feel (music helps), juggling meter around until it fits will be a snap.

  4. ladynimue says:

    And tonight I promise, as i will lie in my bed
    I have this very verse playing in my head !!

    🙂
    Another gem of a write !

Leave a Reply

