THEY’RE ONLY WORDS

There is an urban legend that back in 1899, someone in the patent office said that the patent office should be closed because everything that can be invented has been invented. It’s not true, no one ever said that, but it came to mind today as I was reading the posts in my favorite writers’ blogs this morning. Many of them were using the same prompts for their NaPoWriMo poems, yet none of the poems were even vaguely similar. The old ‘million monkeys on a million typewriters eventually duplicating the works of Shakespeare’ argument doesn’t hold up either. The creativity of the human mind is unlimited and the possible word combinations in any language are infinite.

THEY’RE ONLY WORDS
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by won7ders

What words would I have for you
that could win your heart?
Should they be spoken,
placed in a letter
or written in a poem?

What words would I have for you
to hold you here when you want to leave?
Should they be whispered,
shouted from the roof tops
or written in a poem?

What words would I have for you
that would keep you with me forever?
Should they be read from a Bible,
quoted as a vow
or written in a poem?

What words would I have for you
after you’ve left the living?
Should they be sobbed over a grave,
offered as a prayer
or written in a poem?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THEY’RE ONLY WORDS

  1. pmwanken says:

    Oh, Mike….I really enjoyed this one….each stanza gripped me more than the one before it.

  2. Becca Givens says:

    ” … or written in a poem”

    Very nicely written, Mike!

  3. earlybird says:

    I really like this Mike. I think you should probably take the ‘written in a poem’ option every time.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    All of your choices are worthwhile. The important thing is the words, communication.
    I loved this poem.

  5. ladynimue says:

    Only if he would return
    and let me know just once
    where to begin writing for him
    and where it should end…

    Apologies for these free lines .. am in a writing mode so grabbing all ideas i get in my head ..
    thanks for the heartfelt lines ..

Leave a Reply

