SPRING

I’m taking a free day. All the prompts require more mental acuity than I possess. The weather here finally looks like spring, so I’m going to celebrate it.

SPRING
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Army Guy

If I could be granted just one wish,
If I could have one thing,
Grant me not love nor life nor wealth,
Grant me eternal spring.

Does not love blossom in spring?
Is not spring life’s start?
And what is worth more in this life of ours
than spring’s gift of a joyful heart?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SPRING

  1. honeyhaiku says:

    Well said Mike. Spring is certainly the season of many good things.

  2. earlybird says:

    You were quite right to ignore all prompts other than your heart’s.

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Wholehearted agreement here, I like that word ‘acuity!’

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    I’m glad you took a day off: this is a charming and lovely poem.

  5. trisha says:

    what a life it will be. forever fragrant with flowers, colored with their hues.

  6. pmwanken says:

    Mike…

    I wanted to tell you this was part of the inspiration behind “spring storms”…at least the “new life and joyful heart” part.

    By the way…second to last line…”live” or “life”? 😉

    Thanks for inspiring me.
    ~Paula

Leave a Reply

