THE CANDLE’S LIT

I can always count of Big Tent Poetry http://bigtentpoetry.org/ for at least one good NaPoWriMo prompt for the week. This time it’s, “Write a poem about lighting a candle.” I could only think up about 30 possible poems for lighting a candle, but because the workers are supposed to arrive in a minute to put up my new shed, I’d better make it short.

But wait! Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/ has a two for Tuesday prompt. 1) Write a love poem. 2) Write an anti-love poem. What could be more fun? And I can still keep it short.

THE CANDLE’S LIT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by R. Tatis

You lit a candle as I went off
to fight an Asian war.
You blew it out when I came back;
now I’m lighting it once more.

I light the candle of your love,
as you bathe, unaware,
and place it there beside the bed,
as you sing and wash your hair.

I sit and wait, and celebrate,
your love that’s never quit.
The water stops, and I call out,
“Honey, the candle’s lit.”

THE CANDLE’S LIT
by Mike Patrick

I come staggering home
to a house that’s candle lit.
I’m thinking she’s in the mood
and to my love she will submit.

In joyful anticipation,
I go rushing through the house
looking for my amore . . .
instead I hear her grouse:

You’re not even getting
what you think you will.
You idiot, you forgot
to pay the electric bill.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to THE CANDLE’S LIT

  1. PS Good luck with the shed/chateau Mike

  2. espriurenee says:

    I love both of these! One just never really knows until you are there. Thanks!

  3. Brenda says:

    Three prompts in one! That made me smile, right off. Iamic. More smiles. And I like your poems, they have a dashing sense of humour. While I like the last stanza of the 2nd one, it packs a punch, I think I like the 1st one best, which reminds me of a Bonnard painting of a woman bathing.

  4. earlybird says:

    Great fun, Mike.

  5. honeyhaiku says:

    Goodness, I can’t choose my favorite, but that is OK. These were lovely.

  6. Kim Nelson says:

    The first, so romantic.
    The second, so dramatic… and sadly true!

  7. Mr. Walker says:

    Sweet – and then bitter. I like them both.

  8. b_y says:

    chuckles on the anti-
    The romantic love is a keeper

  9. Tumblewords says:

    Laughing. One can’t count on anything. Nicely done.

  10. Cathy says:

    Last one was riot.

Leave a Reply

