WITH ME EVER

The Big Tent Poetry http://bigtentpoetry.org/ prompt for day 17 of NaPoWriMo is to write an ode to a prized physical object. The object was a no-brainer, but the poem is being written late at night. The object has value, the poem—I’m not so sure.

WITH ME EVER
by Mike Patrick

Of little intrinsic worth,
you are my most valuable possession.
Since my bride
slipped you on my finger,
there you have remained,
with me ever.
Nothing fancy here,
a simple gold band,
yet, you stand for my marriage.
You are the symbol I display
to announce the truth of my troth.
There is no end to your perfection,
as there is no end to my vow,
as there is no end to my love.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WITH ME EVER

  1. vivinfrance says:

    A lovely thought. This has the ring of truth…

  2. trisha says:

    this is the piece of nupital love which you can keep close to yourself wherever you go. 🙂

  3. Marianne says:

    Your words are a tribute to your love. Wonderful poem!

  4. Bravo, Mike. Have you ever watched Blue Bloods? You remind me of the detective, Tom Selleck’s son in the series. An honorable husband.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Blue Bloods is one of my favorites. It is the rare series which shows the police as honorable, and displays family values in a positive light. I don’t know about being Selleck’s son though, I’m only about six months younger than Selleck is.

  5. This is really nice MP 🙂

Leave a Reply

