SQUADRON PARTY IN THE PARK

Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/ PAD prompt for day 10 is to write a ‘never again poem.’

This is from a true incident, which occurred in good old VT-21, in the Navy when I was twenty years old. I only wrote about the parts I could remember.

SQUADRON PARTY IN THE PARK
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by hectorir

Never again, if I live,
will I drink this much alcohol.
All the beer that I can drink
from a never-ending keg.

Chugging contests using quart mugs,
The last man standing wins.

Advice from a friend(?):
There’s no shame in getting sick,
Just throw up in the weeds
and come back drinking.

A half mile to the barracks—
if I could walk—
More like two miles when crawling.
Takes all night
if you fall asleep on the lawn.
Damn the mosquitoes.
Never again.

I did live, and a valuable lesson was learned.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SQUADRON PARTY IN THE PARK

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Brilliant. I wish some of the UK’s binge drinking liver-killing youngsters could read this.

  2. Marianne says:

    Sounds like one of those “rights of passage” stories. Makes me think of the young people who have died from alcohol poisoning. You must have been extremely healthy to survive. You told this well.

  3. earlybird says:

    I particularly like the line ‘damn the mosquitoes’ in here. Inspired detail.

  4. A painful experience but maybe worth the message that followed in your poem…. I mean it’s better to learn from the other’s mistakes, but that is not always the case….
    Great write, very realistic

  5. cloakedmonk says:

    Eww. You portrayed the ickyness quite well. Youth often brings these bad choices but you learned from it and portrayed it in a manner so that other people can get a glimpse of that reality and maybe, just maybe, learn something as well!

  6. A lesson well-learned. I think many of us have to learn things the hard way.

Leave a Reply

