DESTINY’S DAY

The final prompt for the week from Big Tent Poetry http://bigtentpoetry.org/ was to use ‘lung’ in a poem, so for day 10 of NaPoWriMo http://www.napowrimo.net/, true to my promise, I gave it a shot. ‘Lung’ was for me the most difficult prompt I’ve ever seen (I’m starting to agree with Tilly and the wood-chipper solution). The below mind map shows just how devoid my pea brain was. It took forever to come up with anything and forever squared to find something that wasn’t totally negative.DESTINY’S DAY
by Mike Patrick

Down the aisle she slowly paced
to the rhythm of my heart
Already had her beauty graced
my life in every part.

Each graceful step, so refined,
a step toward destiny.
Two in love, lives entwined,
for all the world to see.

When she stepped up, and stood beside
my eager, shaking frame,
something deep inside me cried
this beauty would share my name.

My beating heart became unstrung,
my trembling voice it did betray
Her hand’s soft touch, stole my lungs,
and took my labored breath away.

The spinning lights, I feared I’d swoon,
as the words, “I do,” I weakly cried,
and found myself back in the room,
my arms around my bride.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DESTINY’S DAY

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    Aaahh!! Well done for using this prompt; I know how you’ve put it off 🙂

  2. vivinfrance says:

    That mind map nearly led you astray! But true to form, you’ve written another romance for us. Bravo.

  3. Siggi im Maine says:

    Shouting at the top of my lungs,
    I scream “bravo” for the weeks efforts,
    gray matter wanting more and more
    oxygen for searching for clues
    where would the breakthrough
    for “lungs” appear.
    “Bravo, Mike”, lungs at rest,
    breathing easy, til the next prompts appear.
    Siggi in Maine

  4. pmwanken says:

    SOOO glad you did not “stroke out” before you had the chance to write such a lovely, romantic poem. I knew you could do it, Mike! Thanks for sharing your heart…..AND your lung! 😉

  5. earlybird says:

    Well done, Mike. And thanks for sharing the mind map. (I’m still slightly struggling with FreeMind but I will master it in the end!)

Leave a Reply

