ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD

Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/, prompt for day 9 of NaPoWriMo is to write a poem using a specific time. Again, following my heart instead of the directions, I went off prompt.

ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD
By Mike Patrick

Flickr image by johnnyg1955

“Take it easy darling, don’t rush me,”
were the words I used to say.
“If we don’t get there on time tonight,
well, tomorrow is another day.”

We’ve got all the time in the world.

But time, like water, can slip through one’s hand.
It can all travel by way to fast.
You can’t move slow and catch time’s falling sand.
Soon, that tomorrow will be part of the past.

We’ve got all the time in the world.

Soon, earth’s time will pass us by
and death will run us down.
Then, in heaven, where time can’t fly,
we’ll start our second time around.

We’ve got all the time in the world.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD

  1. 1sojournal says:

    Amazing Mike, I’ve been thinking about tomorrow’s poem and come here to find that your thoughts are tuned in the same direction on some levels. Yes, there is a time when we assume we have all the time in the world, and I like how you change the meaning of those words at the end of the poem. I’m am now at an age when I am aware that I have lived more than I have left, and that makes each moment even more precious. Wish we didn’t have to wait so long to learn that. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words,

    Elizabeth

    • Mike Patrick says:

      With age I expected wisdom, yet it is so rarely there. I search for meaning; do I matter? No way to tell. Now I write, leaving little pieces laying about; in hope that sometime in the future my grandchildren will be able to answer that question. I want them to remember I lived, and felt, and loved; and to know I embraced my mistakes because they were mine to make and for the most part, they were worth it.

      Arrr, Elizabeth, see what happens after midnight when I’ve been nipping a little of the Irish, listening to Patsy Cline and working on an impossible poem. Makes me melancholy—but truthful.

  2. Irene says:

    I like that conversation and that refrain. I’m learning to slow down myself. Lovely poem.

  3. This is so true, Mike. Nice take on the prompt.

  4. ladynimue says:

    Some days I think I will amke it in time .. and others I think I will make good of whatever time i have in my hands .. Works according to mood ! 🙂

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    The trouble is we don’t realise it until it’s too late to do anything about it.

  6. vivinfrance says:

    This is my favourite of all the poems to this prompt.

Leave a Reply

