WHAT IF?

Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/CommentView,guid,747bdfaf-d3f5-4fc2-8884-007386c07d4b.aspx#commentstart prompt for day seven of NaPoWriMo is to write a “what if” poem.

WHAT IF?
By Mike Patrick

Flickr image by NIKONGERL!!

What if my fingers had never touched your face?
Would my life have gone on?
It wouldn’t matter.
Life without you wouldn’t be life.
It would be a parody of life,
a tragic opera without words.
No birds could sing there,
the sun would dim.
Vinegar would pass for wine
and roses would be gray.

What if I had never seen your eyes?
There would be no blue.
Amber skies would last all day,
the sea would know only green
and robin’s eggs would be white.
Rainbows would be shamed,
for they would have no reason to be.

What ifs, of a life without you,
are relegated to my darkest dreams.
Even there I fight them.
Even there they lack reality.
There is no life without you.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHAT IF?

  1. earlybird says:

    I like the way you have played with colour. ‘Gray roses’… it would be a grey world.

  2. My idea of a great love poem. Deep without being mushy.

  3. ladynimue says:

    I like it 🙂
    My kind of romantic poem 🙂

Leave a Reply

