CON MAN

The prompts for Three Word Wednesday http://www.threewordwednesday.com/ are “adamant, fabricate and peculiar.” At first I tried to use them within a quatrain, but the subject become so much fun I couldn’t stop.

CON MAN
by Mike Patrick

Bag of money

Flickr image by Deonna2

The perfect mark again I saw
as I entered Casey’s Bar.
The audience she would ever be,
while I remained the star.

A little plump, and much too plain
for the other men to see,
her jewelry was still first class;
that made her right for me.

Three weeks I’d spent working her,
fabricating brand new, pretty lies,
Until there was no chance she’d see
through my industrial disguise.

I took her bag of money
as I kissed her on the cheek,
It was time to get out of town
but my love she did still seek.

She placed her arms around me
in a most peculiar way
and was quite adamant
that I had to stay.

The detectives all around us
quickly put me down.
Their finest female agent
had bagged another clown.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to CON MAN

  1. Great work as always,loved the story!

  2. Sheilagh Lee says:

    the finest female agent had bagged another clown .Great line, great poem.

  3. Nico says:

    Mike, I needed a good laugh today, and your poem provided it! Cleverly written.

  4. honeyhaiku says:

    Funny with pith. Bravo!

  5. earlybird says:

    Excellent! Had me laughing out loud before my morning coffee – what a good start to the day. Thanks, Mike.

  6. trisha says:

    your poetic skills are far above sweet compliments. Another masterpiece mike; knife in velvet sheath i believe. Seen these people, they are usually found in sectors acting against law though.

  7. vivinfrance says:

    What a terrific story, excitingly told, and the perfect ending.

  8. Ha! That was a lot of fun!

  9. Marianne says:

    A fun and clever piece, Mike. Well done!

  10. kshawnedgar says:

    Take the money and run. The words took you and ran.

  11. Kim Nelson says:

    Mike!
    I love the end. Terrific little story, here.
    Mine is posting quite late!
    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2011/04/12/goddess-creates/

Leave a Reply

