GENERATIONS TO COME

Poetic Asides for day three http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/CommentView,guid,05ddad48-5549-40a7-b222-d8074dd01ddb.aspx#commentstart of NaPoWriMo gave a prompt of, “write a poem in which you imagine the world without you.” I dutifully wrote my poem and managed to save it as a draft and never posted it anywhere. I just found it, so here it is a day late.

GENERATIONS TO COME
by Mike Patrick

Me? I don’t matter.
I’ve built no pyramids,
found no cures for cancer
and the Nobel Foundation
has never heard my name.

I came into this world as a potential—
something which might be—
but who can know how close to
that potential one ever comes.

If I had never been,
the only loss would be in potential,
my children’s’ potential,
the generations yet to come.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to GENERATIONS TO COME

  1. Marianne says:

    Wonderful poem and a wonderful response to a difficult prompt! I really do enjoy your poems. They are fresh and straightforward and uncomplicated. I hope you take that as a compliment. I don’t have to guess at your meaning.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    I agree with Marianne. I can’t be doing with poems so deep they fuzz my brain!
    You have definitely hit the nail on the head with this one.

  3. Good reflective write Mike, its hard to look within sometimes. One can only measure their worth by those around them.

  4. earlybird says:

    I love the idea of being embodied as ‘potential’. Thanks, Mike

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    I think a good policeman would always be missed. I like the idea of ‘potential’ as well.

  6. honeyhaiku says:

    This is a wonderful take on the prompt, and as usual you have clearly expressed what so easily been befuddled!

  7. nimue says:

    Well I would have missed reading such wonderful lines !
    🙂

  8. Chloe says:

    I really enjoyed this poem – especially these words “who can know how close to
    that potential one ever comes”…oh, that all folks could realise the amazing potential we all have – and strive hard to reach it!

Leave a Reply

