THE EYE BEHIND

The prompt for Sunday’s Poetry Challenge at One Stop Poetry http://onestoppoetry.com/ is a photograph by photographer India Hobson. I am not a photographer, and I never appreciated them until I began this blog and searched for photographs to go with my poems. Now I cannot give them enough praise. I wanted to place the photo in this post, but for some reason I could not copy it. It can be seen at the above site.

THE EYE BEHIND
By Mike Patrick

Behind the camera is an eye,
an eye which sees so much others never do.
The perfect pose, or the fleeting instant of natures grace,
is reflected in the eye as the shutter snaps.

The eye has learned to live with disappointment.
So many times the pose slips and nature flies.
The eye is destined to forever seek the perfect picture;
the one that touches every heart,
the one that tells the story of a million words.
Not yet found, the eye knows it lives
within the next snap of the shutter.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to THE EYE BEHIND

  1. Pen says:

    Nice work. A thoughtful and thought provoking piece.

  2. dustus says:

    You can screen capture the image. The keyboard short cut (on Mac) is “shift-command-4” (not sure what it is on PC). As for your poem, I like that you recognize how the trained eye of a great photographer anticipates certain aspects of their subject through life experiences. Well done.

  3. Marianne says:

    Bravo! This is wonderful. And it really speaks to me. I love to take pictures with my handy little digital camera. I admit to being a very incompetent amateur photographer, but I frame the most amazing photos. They just never translate from my eye to my camera. They’re best before I click the shutter.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    And behind the camera is an I. Your clever poem made me reflect on the philosophy of photography, which I suppose was your aim. Typo in penultimate line?

  5. You captured a photographer’s eye beautifully!

  6. The eye of the camera is completely unsubjective and semi immortalises a moment i’n time, really liked your analytical take on the photo.

Leave a Reply

