I KNOW YOU WELL

Big Tent Poetry’s http://bigtentpoetry.org/ third prompt for the first week of April’s NaPoWriMo http://www.napowrimo.net/ is, “Write about making a phone call.” This prompt would be perfect for my wife Sandy, but I’ve known hermits, living in a cave, who make more phone calls than I do. Guess this is a wing-it day, but after all of yesterday’s levity, let’s knock it down a notch. Please remove all sharp objects before reading.

I KNOW YOU WELL
by Mike Patrick

Phone, alone on the floor.

Flickr image by Don & Mel

Yes, I know you.
You’re loneliness.
I’ve met you many times,
But never before were you my only friend.

Your embrace is easy to feel,
But oh, how it tears.
Your kiss is almost as empty as the ringing of her phone.
She could drive you away with just a hello,
Or destroy you with a touch.

I guess I shouldn’t complain.
It seems that you’ve been close for most of my life.
Somehow, I feel that we are destined to die together.

Oh yes, loneliness,
I know you well.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I KNOW YOU WELL

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I do so hope that this isn’t about you: I don’t believe it could be, you’re such an outgoing chap. Whatever, it’s beautifully written.

  2. earlybird says:

    ouch

  3. irene says:

    The penultimate stanza got me.

  4. Beautifully done! Very evocative and sad.

Leave a Reply

