LET IT GO DAY

The Cloaked Monk’s, http://cloakedmonk.com/, MarchChallenge prompt for the 26th is, “New Holiday.”

I’m thinking of adding another tag to my list: Desperation. My first thought with this prompt was, ‘Oh no, another hard one,’ so I cheated and did something I never do: I read the other posts to the challenge before writing mine. Eureka! Each post was a supplemental prompt; ideas started jumping out like popcorn.

Now, this is easy, even though my muse Thália is off on holiday, all I have to do is turn loose my inner child. I typed out each idea as quickly as they came to mind, and bang . . . everything stopped. Instead of my inner child, I channeled my inner psychiatrist, hereafter to be known as Dr. Shrink (didn’t even know I had one.)

There, on the screen, the good doctor saw a distasteful collection of negativity. He immediately slapped me to get my attention (not easy to do from inside my head) and said, “What’s wrong with you, boy?” He was right. Reading through all my purposed holidays made me want to slit my wrists. Because of a social conscience, I will not list them here, but they were on a par with ‘Don’t beat your mother-in-law day.’

I picked the least onerous, which happened to be the first one, and scribbled this off.

LET IT GO DAY
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Lindedesign

If I could make a holiday,
I know what it would be;
a day to let things go
would be my nominee.

There’s baggage piled on every life,
forever in the one’s way.
How ’bout a chance to let it go,
and have one perfect day.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LET IT GO DAY

  1. Pingback: March 26: Make Up Your Own Holiday | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  2. Chloe says:

    Awesome! What a wonderful day that would be! xx

  3. vivinfrance says:

    I like your idea. It could be a literal clearout the clutter and get rid day, or it could be a metaphorical let-it-all-hang-out kind of day, ultra relaxed and lazy. Good poem.
    ViV

  4. honeyhaiku says:

    This is a holiday for all!

  5. cloakedmonk says:

    That is a perfect holiday because it would really be preparation for the rest of living. But still, “Don’t beat your mother-in-law day” is worthwhile.

  6. trisha says:

    another adorable poem mike, i can observe this one too, i have quite a neat list of such things.

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/new-holiday/

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    A wonderful idea!

  8. earlybird says:

    An excellent idea. I particularly like the way you put this: ‘baggage piled on every life’. So true. Time to leave it all in the left luggage office!

  9. Fun poem … and a fine idea for a holiday!

  10. dani says:

    a most excellent holiday!

    {but you know your muse’s name? my little rat b**t**d won’t tell me his.}

  11. ladynimue says:

    Can we have this holiday more than once a month 😉
    Loved the verse 🙂

Leave a Reply

