OH INFANT YET UNBORN

The Cloaked Monk’s, http://cloakedmonk.com/, MarchChallenge prompt for the 20th is, “Birth.” Now there is a subject a guy knows a lot about. My children were born before having the father in the delivery room was a common practice. Although we received training in delivering a baby in the police academy, and I had a couple of close calls over the years, the ambulance always got there before I had to play doctor.

Sometime back, for reasons I don’t recall, I wrote something that might be close enough to ‘birth’ to qualify.

OH INFANT YET UNBORN
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by allmothers

It’s nice in there:
So comfortable and so warm.
All that will end, when you first breathe air,
Oh infant, yet unborn.

What does life hold in store
For one as young as you?
All that I have and that much more,
I hope, before you’re through.

The pain, the Hell, that all men see,
I pray they’ll pass you by.
I’ve seen enough for you and me.
I hope you’ll never cry.

Your mother’s beauty, your father’s health,
Your brother’s clothes, somewhat worn:
We’ll pass these to you, as our only wealth,
Oh infant, yet unborn.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OH INFANT YET UNBORN

  1. Strong,truthful realizations! Children have a harsh world awaiting them.

  2. vivinfrance says:

    A real tear-jerker, but the prompt subject cannot help arousing the emotions.

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    We all have those ponderings, don’t we? Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

