SHALL I COUNT THE WAYS

Wednesday’s poetry prompt #127 for Poetic Asides http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/, was to respond to a poem that has already been written. I chose my favorite poem of all time, Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s How do I Love Thee http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/how-do-i-love-thee/, which happens to be a an Italian Sonnet. I responded in kind, and I believe this is the first Italian Sonnet I’ve ever attempted. Once finished, I had to avoid looking at it, because it feels so unfinished. Some day I’ll come back and try to dress it up.

Flicker by Danielle Griffin

SHALL I COUNT THE WAYS
by Mike Patrick

How shall I count the ways you touch my heart?
Enumerate each passioned breath I take
as eagerly I wait for you to wake?
Perhaps the seconds after love’s new start,
since yielding to the proof of Cupid’s dart,
would be the count my heart now needs to make.
Could counting love’s reflections e’er forsake
a stronger love compressed in smaller part?

Might still a smaller number mean as much?
The precious times my body’s joined with you,
or times I kissed the sweetness of your lips
while wondering if our souls forever touch.
How can I count the ways our love renews
when every day, so quickly it’s eclipsed?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SHALL I COUNT THE WAYS

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Hats off for a brave effort at a Herculean task.

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    My hard, unsentimental heart just turned into a pile of mush. Lovely.

  3. Lovely work as always, love should not be measured but felt, that is all that is needed.

  4. earlybird says:

    well… for ‘a first attempt’ I think it’s pretty impressive.

  5. honeyhaiku says:

    The is fantastic Mike, well rendered indeed!

  6. dani says:

    absolutely beautiful! who knew you’re such a romantic?

Leave a Reply

