A HUSBAND’S PRAYER

Looking back at my earlier postings, I fear I am giving a false impression of myself. While I consider myself a reasonably moral person, I am not terribly religious in a church-going way. With that said, the older I get, the deeper my religious introspection becomes.

All that, just for an intro into my posting for today’s March Challenge, which addresses ‘courage’ in just one stanza. I wrote this about twenty years ago, when I was much more of a heathen than I am now. Go figure.

The Cloaked Monks http://cloakedmonk.com/ prompt for the 17th is “Courage.”

A HUSBAND’S PRAYER
By Mike Patrick

Flickr image by C Jill Reed

O’ Lord,
Grant me wisdom.
Not to rule the world,
But to guide a child.

Grant me strength.
Not to fight a war,
But to hold up my head.

Grant me knowledge.
Not to demand,
But to teach.

Grant me love.
Not of the masses,
But of one woman.

Grant me courage.
Not to battle,
But to follow a straight path.

Grant me tomorrow.
Not for a day to gain,
But for a day to serve.
Amen.

As a side note, around the time I wrote this prayer/poem, I was present to witness true act of courage. As a cop, I was assisting in a raid on a dope house. When the signal to go was given, everyone rushed the house. The front door had an outer gate of protective bars that happened to be unlocked. The inner door was forced and first officer through the door was shot by someone inside the house. He fell backwards out the door and his head passed between two of the outer bars, effectively hanging him with his feet off the ground. The officer immediately behind him grabbed him and held him up, but was unable free his head from the bars. Fully exposed, he turned his back to the open door and used his body to shield the injured officer; fully knowing the man inside had shot one officer and would not hesitate to shoot another. He stood that way about thirty seconds, as we forced our way past them and through the door where we disarmed the shooter. That was thirty seconds of your time or mine, but it had to seem like a lifetime while he was holding his bleeding friend. The officer who was shot was my friend too. He did not survive.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A HUSBAND’S PRAYER

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    How brave that man was. I’m sorry it was in vain.

    There isn’t much respect for any police force these days, but please know that some of us think you’re doing a marvellous job in difficult times.

  2. Pingback: March 17: Courage | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Mike your prayer is so sane, and your story which follows makes it so much more relevant. Two very brave friends each showed a different kind of courage, and I am sad that one didn’t survive,

  4. honeyhaiku says:

    Wow. What a story, what a poem…the courage to write it and share.

  5. earlybird says:

    When I read things like this I am even more grateful for the sheltered life I’ve lead/lead. The story put the poem into context. Courage indeed.

  6. trisha says:

    hats off to that officer, my goodness! these are the people who make this world beautiful. Remind us that God lives inside us.

    I loved your poem- thats a real man’s words.

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/courage/

  7. Becca Givens says:

    Awesome pen and tribute … I thank you for your service and the service of those who so willingly give their lives for our protection freedom. Courage is acting despite the inside screaming “NOOOO!” Thank you for sharing your story, Mike! ~~ becca

    and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!! 🙂

  8. I agree on the previous comment – the courage is also to share such sad memories
    Great poem….

  9. Jingle says:

    it takes courage to pray and face the situations you are in,

    bravo, you are a courageous man.
    lucky wife you have there,
    bless both ..

  10. dani says:

    the prayer is beautiful. your telling of your friend being injured should include the bravery of EVERY police officer there. i’m sorry for the loss of your friend.

Leave a Reply

